Grandma's Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Very nice, I recommend letting them sit for a 1/2 hour under a damp towel or in the fridge so the flour develops a little bit. They can get a bit gluey otherwise. I also added the traditional ridges to these by rolling them over the back of the tines of a fork. Theoretically holds the sauce a bit better... try this just with butter and sage too, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Very, very good indeed. Made exactly as per instructions and they came out beautifully. Served them with a ground veal, thyme & white wine sauce and - after saying that he'd never manage to eat all that - Him Indoors polished off his plate and then went back for more. Thanks for a great (and easy) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I used a tomatoe cream sauce over the Gnocchi and served it with a baked chicken breast seasoned with Italian spices, garlic, onions and olive oil. A ceasar salad and some bread compleated the meal. This is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Webster, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is the best Gnocchi that I have ever had. It is deliciously tender and melts in your mouth. I was pushed for time so I used instant mashed potatoes instead and it turned out a treat. I also used more flour than the recipie said. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This was wonderful! I have always wanted to make this but thought it would be to hard. It didn't take that long. We all loved it. Next time I make it I am going to get fresh parmesan and parsley for the top. I made a salad with garlic toast and we had a meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Used leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving. Used 2 eggs and added flour until a nice pasta formed. My daughter and I added it to a turkey stock. It was incredible. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I would have to say that this was the best. I can not cook and my husband wanted gnocchi for his birthday dinner and he said it was as good as anything he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I doubled the recipe, increased the eggs to 6 & added 1/2 cup of flour. That made less like mashed potatoes & more like a dumpling. Delicious! To make the sauce I sauteed 1/2 a small onion, added 1 large can hunts four cheese tomato sauce, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 tsp roasted garlic grillmates & simmer. just before serving, I added 1/2 - 3/4 cup heavy cream. top with parm. cheese.... yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
If you have never made gnocchi, like me, then this is a great starter recipe. Follow the advice of other cooks and make sure your potatoes are mashed to a smooth consistancy or you will have potatoe chunks in your pasta. I used 5 medium to large potatoes and probably about 1.5 to 2 cups of flour. The dough is very sticky but holds together well. When you roll it on the counter, any additional flour that is needed is picked up. As a first time gnocchi maker, it was difficult to know what to look for, but such a pleasure to try. We will definitely be making gnocchi again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I've only had gnocchi one other time and it was in a soup at a restaurant. Gnocchi in general is very bland, it's basically a potato pasta, so by itself it's not the greatest thing in the world, but in a soup or with a delicious vodka sauce or other red sauces it is superb. This recipe is great because I love making pasta from scratch, it is simple, and I will make it several times more. Thanks PASTAWITHGARLIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commis Chef Nieves

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States