Grandma's Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
STOP PRESS!!! This recipe is good, if you know how to make the best of it. I didn't when I tried it the first time. The dough took far more flour than the recipe stipulated, and sure enough, the resultant dumplings tasted bland and floury. After doing some research, I discovered what was causing the problem. Overcooking the potatoes! If they are overcooked, they will absorb more flour, sink to the bottom of the pot like lumps of something you don't wanna eat, and come out floury and tasteless. Just cook the potatoes until a knife will easily go through them, but don't let them cook so long that they start falling apart. Then, when you mash them, I'd recommend adding garlic salt and your favourite Italian herbs. I served ours with a home-made Primavera sauce, and next time I'll serve it with a creamy bacon/shallot sauce. Yes, there will be a next time, and I'll be sure and not overcook the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
As a gnocchi lover I have been searching for the best recipe, this is just a tip or observation - if you bake the potatoes instead of boiling them it is much easier to achieve the consistency you desire without adding too much extra flour. I bake the poatoes in the microwave just using the baked potato button and then follow the rest of the recipe as it and it comes out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Very nice, I recommend letting them sit for a 1/2 hour under a damp towel or in the fridge so the flour develops a little bit. They can get a bit gluey otherwise. I also added the traditional ridges to these by rolling them over the back of the tines of a fork. Theoretically holds the sauce a bit better... try this just with butter and sage too, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Update** I watched a show on food network and they suggested chilling the potatoes after running them thru the potato ricer. Also, they recommended using only enough flour to make the mixture come together.**My entire family including my little boys love gnocchi. I gave this recipe 4 stars because my recipe is a little different (and I love my recipe!). I use 2 cups flour instead of 1 and no olive oil. I do add parmesan cheese (at least 3 Tbsp). As for potatoes, I use 4 large baking potatoes. I have mashed my potatoes in many different ways and have found the best way is to use a potato ricer. It was well worth the investment (I think it was about $30) since my family loves this meal. Thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The basis of this recipe is great, however, I used three potatoes, and used almost THREE cups of flour (and no, it was not chewy at all. In fact, everyone said it was so much better than the restaurant and the store bought gnocchis because the store bought gnocchis are too chewy). I think all the ingredients need to be doubled (EXCEPT the potatoes), to make this recipe work. I do like adding in the olive oil...makes the gnocchi more tender for sure! I also added in minced garlic, dried herbs, and replaced salt for GARLIC salt. It was topped with a creamy pesto and grilled chicken...so yummy! The work is super tedious, but well worth it when you see the reactions from your guests and your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanhgirl417
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This was a good basic recipe for gnocchi. Although the gourmet gnocchi I have had did not have much seasoning, I added a bit. While smashing my potatoes, I added about 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp garlic powder, along with a bit of pepper. This is just personal preference. As other reviewers have mentioned.. make sure you cook your potatoes just right. They should be tender, not mushy. Too much or too little flour correcting your potato problem will ruin your efforts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is the best Gnocchi that I have ever had. It is deliciously tender and melts in your mouth. I was pushed for time so I used instant mashed potatoes instead and it turned out a treat. I also used more flour than the recipie said. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Used leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving. Used 2 eggs and added flour until a nice pasta formed. My daughter and I added it to a turkey stock. It was incredible. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I would have to say that this was the best. I can not cook and my husband wanted gnocchi for his birthday dinner and he said it was as good as anything he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I used a tomatoe cream sauce over the Gnocchi and served it with a baked chicken breast seasoned with Italian spices, garlic, onions and olive oil. A ceasar salad and some bread compleated the meal. This is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Webster, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States