Grandma's Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Very nice, I recommend letting them sit for a 1/2 hour under a damp towel or in the fridge so the flour develops a little bit. They can get a bit gluey otherwise. I also added the traditional ridges to these by rolling them over the back of the tines of a fork. Theoretically holds the sauce a bit better... try this just with butter and sage too, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I used a tomatoe cream sauce over the Gnocchi and served it with a baked chicken breast seasoned with Italian spices, garlic, onions and olive oil. A ceasar salad and some bread compleated the meal. This is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Webster, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is the best Gnocchi that I have ever had. It is deliciously tender and melts in your mouth. I was pushed for time so I used instant mashed potatoes instead and it turned out a treat. I also used more flour than the recipie said. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I followed the recipe completely and it seemed to make a nice dough -- until I put the gnocchi into boiling water. Seemed to be fine at first, and then just melted. I took out at the 3-minute mark and ended up with a bizarre cream-of-potato mixture with the texture of oatmeal. Maybe it would help to measure the potatoes by weight rather than number.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Very, very good indeed. Made exactly as per instructions and they came out beautifully. Served them with a ground veal, thyme & white wine sauce and - after saying that he'd never manage to eat all that - Him Indoors polished off his plate and then went back for more. Thanks for a great (and easy) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Not very good. Compared to other gnocchi recipes, this recipe may need more flour. The gnocchis started to fall apart when boiled. Taste was OK; presentation was terible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Not bad. I followed the recipe to the tee and found it needed a bit more flour. The first batch turned out really mushy so I made another and layed them out on a tray and froze them. This helped harden them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I wanted to try to make homemade gnocchi, and this initial try didn't turn out as good as i expected. I'm not sure if it was me or the recipe, but the gnocchi turned out really sticky (before and after I cooked them) even though I added significantly more flour than the recipe suggested (any less would have made the gnocchi "un-handleable") When they were done cooking, they were still kind of sticky and tasted "OK". Next time I will forego the frustration and buy them premade at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Mine fell apart! I don't know if it was the recipe or me (I'm guessing me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This was wonderful! I have always wanted to make this but thought it would be to hard. It didn't take that long. We all loved it. Next time I make it I am going to get fresh parmesan and parsley for the top. I made a salad with garlic toast and we had a meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States