Grandma's Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Could've been "user error" but these didn't come out well for me! They took forever to roll out and cut and they were so sticky, I had to keep adding flour, then after I cooked them they were very gummy. Luckily I had a backup, I think I'll stick to store bought gnocchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This was a good basic recipe for gnocchi. Although the gourmet gnocchi I have had did not have much seasoning, I added a bit. While smashing my potatoes, I added about 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp garlic powder, along with a bit of pepper. This is just personal preference. As other reviewers have mentioned.. make sure you cook your potatoes just right. They should be tender, not mushy. Too much or too little flour correcting your potato problem will ruin your efforts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I like this recipe overall, but feel that the outcome tasted a bit oily for my taste. Will probably make this again, but not add oil. I added a sprinkling of garlic powder and 3 T of parmesan cheese to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I love Gnocchi but we can't eat out all the time. I was excited to find this recipe and thought I would love it. I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings. I read most of the other user's reviews and was aware of not overcooking the potatoes. I ended up undercooking them and had to keep puting them in the nuker since my pot of water was empty. This added a lot of cooking time. I started at 5pm we ate at about 7pm. Finally I got the dough put together and as I was rolling it out It felt really soft and fell apart easily when handled. I thought that might be good since one doesn't like heavy gnocchi. When I was ready to cook them they had massed to gether into a lum of essentially mashed potatoes. They did float though and when I serrved them they were VERY light and delicate. However, It tasted like mashed potatoes with red sauce and not Grandma's Gnocchi. Alas, I will have to keep saving my money for $30 a plate version at my favorite restaraunt. My anniversery is long way away. :(sniffle, boo-hoo :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
STOP PRESS!!! This recipe is good, if you know how to make the best of it. I didn't when I tried it the first time. The dough took far more flour than the recipe stipulated, and sure enough, the resultant dumplings tasted bland and floury. After doing some research, I discovered what was causing the problem. Overcooking the potatoes! If they are overcooked, they will absorb more flour, sink to the bottom of the pot like lumps of something you don't wanna eat, and come out floury and tasteless. Just cook the potatoes until a knife will easily go through them, but don't let them cook so long that they start falling apart. Then, when you mash them, I'd recommend adding garlic salt and your favourite Italian herbs. I served ours with a home-made Primavera sauce, and next time I'll serve it with a creamy bacon/shallot sauce. Yes, there will be a next time, and I'll be sure and not overcook the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I would have to say that this was the best. I can not cook and my husband wanted gnocchi for his birthday dinner and he said it was as good as anything he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is a very good recipe - just like my great grandma used to make. It's not complicated to follow, but it is labor intensive! I added salt to the dough for some added flavor. I also pulled apart the dough and rolled it into egg shapped balls, to give it a better aethetic. Don't worry about mashing all the lumps out of the potato before making the dough. Boiling the gnoccis in water will soften up any small remaining lumps. I like my gnoccis with vodka marinara, yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Used leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving. Used 2 eggs and added flour until a nice pasta formed. My daughter and I added it to a turkey stock. It was incredible. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The basis of this recipe is great, however, I used three potatoes, and used almost THREE cups of flour (and no, it was not chewy at all. In fact, everyone said it was so much better than the restaurant and the store bought gnocchis because the store bought gnocchis are too chewy). I think all the ingredients need to be doubled (EXCEPT the potatoes), to make this recipe work. I do like adding in the olive oil...makes the gnocchi more tender for sure! I also added in minced garlic, dried herbs, and replaced salt for GARLIC salt. It was topped with a creamy pesto and grilled chicken...so yummy! The work is super tedious, but well worth it when you see the reactions from your guests and your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanhgirl417
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Update** I watched a show on food network and they suggested chilling the potatoes after running them thru the potato ricer. Also, they recommended using only enough flour to make the mixture come together.**My entire family including my little boys love gnocchi. I gave this recipe 4 stars because my recipe is a little different (and I love my recipe!). I use 2 cups flour instead of 1 and no olive oil. I do add parmesan cheese (at least 3 Tbsp). As for potatoes, I use 4 large baking potatoes. I have mashed my potatoes in many different ways and have found the best way is to use a potato ricer. It was well worth the investment (I think it was about $30) since my family loves this meal. Thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States