Grandma's Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Followed recipe exactly and dough was looking great but when I tried to cook them they disentegrated! Don't know what I did wrong but after all the work I won't try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
If you have never made gnocchi, like me, then this is a great starter recipe. Follow the advice of other cooks and make sure your potatoes are mashed to a smooth consistancy or you will have potatoe chunks in your pasta. I used 5 medium to large potatoes and probably about 1.5 to 2 cups of flour. The dough is very sticky but holds together well. When you roll it on the counter, any additional flour that is needed is picked up. As a first time gnocchi maker, it was difficult to know what to look for, but such a pleasure to try. We will definitely be making gnocchi again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Definitely needs more flour than stated in the ingredient list, but still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This is the same basic recipe for Gnocchi that my Great Grandma Muscolo brought over from Italy in 1906, except that she rolled hers over a fork to get that traditional look. As far as how much flour you really need, that all depends on the potatoes, AND the moisture in your flour. These can vary greatly. What my family does is simply add flour until the dough is not tacky and sticking to your fingers quite so much. I have also found that using a ricer makes for lighter Gnocchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
As a gnocchi lover I have been searching for the best recipe, this is just a tip or observation - if you bake the potatoes instead of boiling them it is much easier to achieve the consistency you desire without adding too much extra flour. I bake the poatoes in the microwave just using the baked potato button and then follow the rest of the recipe as it and it comes out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Making sure the potatoes are cooked through was the only challange I had on this one. The final product turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Didn't work out for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong, but this didn't turn out for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Could've been "user error" but these didn't come out well for me! They took forever to roll out and cut and they were so sticky, I had to keep adding flour, then after I cooked them they were very gummy. Luckily I had a backup, I think I'll stick to store bought gnocchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States