Grandma's Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
very good reminded me of my great grandma gnocchi although she used butter rather than oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I have tried numerous recipes from allrecipes.com and unfortunately this one was not good it will not make it into my recipe box sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Just made these.. delicious! Way better making them homemade rather than the frozen ones. Used exact amounts of ingredients, but used white potaotes (because that's all I had on hand).. super easy recipe with items you have on hand. Mine boiled in about a minute and were very light not dense.. will use this as my go to recipe!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was my first time making gnocchi so I took the advise of someone else as I was short on time (and I fail at making mashed potatoes) so I microwaved them ( I try to avoid microwaving, but thats how bad I fail at making mashed potatoes haha) I used 4 small russets and it took about 3/4 C flour. They turned out perfect and my husband loved it! He is a gnocchi lover. So thanks for the recipe! I will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This the best gnocchi recipe. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
PROMISING. I´m going to invest in a ricer just to try making this again. Used 1 lb. fork-mashed potato (oven baked), 1 egg, pinch of salt and 4 oz. of flour plus quite a bit more in order to get a workable dough. Ran the dough pieces over the back of a fork and placed them on parchment while making the rest. They were still too wet and stuck to the parchment and didn´t slide off into the pot of boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
The rating is based on my errors not the recipe as this was a disaster for me. I used 5 baking potatoes instead of 6. I didn't have a ricer so I grated the potatoes. I don't think that the 1 cup of flour is sufficient or maybe after reading others reviews I over cooked the potatoes (I only cooked them for 15 minutes) but even after 2 cups of flour the mixture seemed too sticky and soft. They cooked up ok but just seemed too fluffy and after having Gnocchi in Italy it just didn't do it for me. I was looking for a more dense gnocchi. I will have to try again in the future with a ricer and see what happens. Thanks for the experience and a base recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I think I was so worried about overcooking the potatoes that I undercooked them, but they still turned out pretty good. Will try again. Also added some Italian spices to spruce it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
It worked pretty well for me, for a first shot! I didn't pay much attention to the written ingredient amounts and just added flour until it seemed right. I also baked the potatoes first, mashed them, then chilled them for about 10 min before making. I plan to experiment with other types of potatoes, and adding other ingredients for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe is amzing! I made it this weekend and put it in my chicken soup and everyone raved! It was my first time making gnocchi and the directions were fool-proof. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States