Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I love, love, loved them the first time I made them. So much that I gave some to the neighbors to show off. The second time I made them, I decreased the size of the cookie and they were more gingersnappy than before - as they tend to be pretty soft. My modifications: I added tiny bits of sliced candied ginger to the top for an extra zing. Also used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are one of my classic cookie recipes. So soft and chewy. My friends and family love them! My only changes to the recipe include using butter instead of the margarine and blackstrap molasses (the really dark stuff). I've tried making them with whole wheat pastry flour, but the cookies were not as soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Good, but not very snappy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Crane, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very nice, chewy cookie with the perfect amount of spice. Holds up well on holiday trays, keeps well and freezes great, both in dough and baked form. I rolled mine in turbinado sugar... they were beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These cookies were excellent. I baked them for 10 minutes as we liked them a bit more crispy around the edge. They stayed soft for days. Really Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shweetpotato
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious , hubby LOVES them :) thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shweetpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by MelissaRenner
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe matches my Great-Grandmothers' recipe exatcly! 8 minutes is the trick, pull the cookie sheet out when they don't look quite done... and they'll be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaRenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Practically melted into hard disks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
They taste wonderful!! Thanks for sharing ::)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very tasty cookie but nothing like what I expected. There was no way that dough was the right consistency to roll and so they were drop cookies. They spread out a LOT. I don't know why this happened as I followed the recipe exactly. I'm searching for an answer to that very predicament. They do taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States