Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
A soft gingersnap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I needed gingersnaps for a cheesecake crust so decided to make them myself and used this recipe. I baked the cookies longer than suggested because I wanted to make sure they were crispy. I used butter instead of margarine. Initially, DH and I both thought they lacked ginger flavor and I nearly threw away the ones I didn't use for the crust. But then with time, DH kept eating them and declared them to be the perfect gingersnap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is an Excellent ginger snap cookie recipe. They remind me of my childhood! Grandma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Excellent, I baked some hard to use for a crust and left some soft to snack on they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bugladynora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Artesia, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Delightful. I used an entire cup of Land O' Lakes Unsalted Butter for this recipe and came out with a dough that is easy to work with and cut shapes out of. These are one of my brother's favorites. He'll be so pleased and surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash.N.King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Added 1/4 tsp of cayenne, 1/4 tsp of green caramom, a dash of allspice, increased to 1.5 tlbsp of Ginger and still not spicy enough for me. Going to decrease butter/shortening next time and double spices, min.. These came out chewy vs crisp, but think I can get to where I like with some modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I nearly doubled the ginger but don't know if it was stale and used whole wheat flour. I also baked for almost 15 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I followed the suggestions of previous reviewers and added allspice, cardamom and black pepper. To finish the cookies I put about 2 tablespoons of crystalized ginger into the mini chopper until finely ground and mixed it with my sanding sugar before rolling the dough balls. An exceptional cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This recipe is great! So easy, fast, and tasty! I added 1/4 tsp cardamom and 1/2 tsp ground cloves for some extra spice. Also used 1 whole cup of butter. Baked 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I think I should change the name of the ones I made to Honey Spice Cookies: my kids came up with the idea to bake gingersnaps, and I said "yes" before checking the pantry. I was out of molasses and ginger! We used honey, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and cardamom (and sanding sugar on top) instead...FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Elizabeth Evans Hornung

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States