Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Practically melted into hard disks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
They taste wonderful!! Thanks for sharing ::)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very tasty cookie but nothing like what I expected. There was no way that dough was the right consistency to roll and so they were drop cookies. They spread out a LOT. I don't know why this happened as I followed the recipe exactly. I'm searching for an answer to that very predicament. They do taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really good cookies and very easy to make my kids loved them. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great recipe! But I prefer a crispier cookies so I experimented with the baking time. I found that if you bake it for 15-17 mins the gingersnaps will come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I am not a baker (I can;t get over measuring everything I put in) but I did this time and these turned out fantastic!! if you freeze them overnight then eat them frozen they are even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These cookies have a good taste but they are not like the gingersnaps I'm used to. The margarine taste is pretty strong. I would have expected the spices to be stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yummy! I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening because that's what I had, and an extra 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon because we love cinnamon. I also added an additional 1/2 cup of flour because the dough looked very sticky. It ended up being very soft dough, but not at all sticky so was just fine to work with. Also, because I was feeling especially lazy, I just dumped the dry ingredients into the mixing bowl without stirring them together first. Thankfully, the cookies did not seem to suffer for it! I got 20 cookies out of the recipe (we like big ones!) and they were perfect and soft after 10 minutes in the oven. My cookies actually did not spread more than any other cookie dough- I suspect the extra flour and the shortening helped (cookies baked with shortening do not spread as much). In the future when I make these delicious, soft, spicy cookies, I will use part shortening and the additional 1/2 cup flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Super yummy! I made with butter because I never keep margarine on hand and they turned out great. A bit hit with all my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States