Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Even people who didn't like gingersnaps liked these cookies. Recipe Modifications: - I used butter instead of margarine - I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg Prep Modifications: - I chilled the dough for a few minutes, rolled it about 1/4" thick, then used a cookie cutter. - I cooked for 6-7 minutes They were beautifully crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. You do have to watch them to make sure they're not too crunchy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Wonderful! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Added a 1/4 cup more butter and they came out soooooo good! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made these using Better Batter Gluten Free Flour, and egg substitute, and feared for the worst. Man was I surprised! They are delicious! You can't even tell they are gluten and egg-free! Everyone just gobbled them up! I actually used some of them crumbled up to make a pie crust for pumpkin pie. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have made these a lot and they always taste so good!! This is my go to recipe if I need a fast and great cookie for a party or just a good snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These are the best gingersnaps I ever tasted! I made them today, with no changes except that I used Canola Oil instead of oleo. Used my 1" melon baller to scoop, rolled them in white sugar and baked them 8 minutes at 375 degrees, a little above the center of the oven. As directed, I let them sit in the pans for 5 minutes before removing them to racks to cool. There were a few that were a little smaller, and they turned out crispy, but still fairly soft in the centers. The larger ones were soft & chewy, with some crispiness around the edges. No matter how they turned out, they were extremely good! The dough was quite soft and I debated using a bit more flour, but since it was my first time making them I decided to go as specified this time. It turned out to be very easy to handle, not sticky, came right out of the melon baller. The cookies didn't hold the shape, but melted down to thin, round cookies...just what I wanted. NOTE: I just realized I set my oven at 375 instead of 350, but I think it runs a little lower than it shows, so probably was closer to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These are already pretty good but by also adding the extra spices recommended by SHORTIE93003 (2 tablespoons of flour, 1 teaspoon of black pepper, and 1 teaspoon of allspice), these cookies really come out spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I've been question for the perfect ginger snap recipe, and it seems I'll continue. These cookies are good, but not snappy like a gingersnap should be. I substituted 1/2c butter and 1/4c shortening, as I don't keep margarine around, and read other people had done the same. They looked fantastic coming out of the oven, cracked and raised, but then flattened, and were far too chewy. Also far too buttery. I should have learned by now to ever use more than 1/2c butter for any cookie recipe in which I'm making a standard amount. I only made a dozen, and have left the rest of the dough to chill in my fridge overnight. I'll probably leave them anonymously in the lunch room at work. If only I could find something even remotely close to Trader Joe's triple ginger snaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These taste absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
perfect. I dont know how other people's came out 'flat', mine were kinda puffy. I ended up burning the first batch because yeah, my oven in ancient so of course oven times vary and now I keep a very close eye on them. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States