Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Added a 1/4 cup more butter and they came out soooooo good! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made these using Better Batter Gluten Free Flour, and egg substitute, and feared for the worst. Man was I surprised! They are delicious! You can't even tell they are gluten and egg-free! Everyone just gobbled them up! I actually used some of them crumbled up to make a pie crust for pumpkin pie. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have made these a lot and they always taste so good!! This is my go to recipe if I need a fast and great cookie for a party or just a good snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These are the best gingersnaps I ever tasted! I made them today, with no changes except that I used Canola Oil instead of oleo. Used my 1" melon baller to scoop, rolled them in white sugar and baked them 8 minutes at 375 degrees, a little above the center of the oven. As directed, I let them sit in the pans for 5 minutes before removing them to racks to cool. There were a few that were a little smaller, and they turned out crispy, but still fairly soft in the centers. The larger ones were soft & chewy, with some crispiness around the edges. No matter how they turned out, they were extremely good! The dough was quite soft and I debated using a bit more flour, but since it was my first time making them I decided to go as specified this time. It turned out to be very easy to handle, not sticky, came right out of the melon baller. The cookies didn't hold the shape, but melted down to thin, round cookies...just what I wanted. NOTE: I just realized I set my oven at 375 instead of 350, but I think it runs a little lower than it shows, so probably was closer to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These are already pretty good but by also adding the extra spices recommended by SHORTIE93003 (2 tablespoons of flour, 1 teaspoon of black pepper, and 1 teaspoon of allspice), these cookies really come out spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I've been question for the perfect ginger snap recipe, and it seems I'll continue. These cookies are good, but not snappy like a gingersnap should be. I substituted 1/2c butter and 1/4c shortening, as I don't keep margarine around, and read other people had done the same. They looked fantastic coming out of the oven, cracked and raised, but then flattened, and were far too chewy. Also far too buttery. I should have learned by now to ever use more than 1/2c butter for any cookie recipe in which I'm making a standard amount. I only made a dozen, and have left the rest of the dough to chill in my fridge overnight. I'll probably leave them anonymously in the lunch room at work. If only I could find something even remotely close to Trader Joe's triple ginger snaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These taste absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
perfect. I dont know how other people's came out 'flat', mine were kinda puffy. I ended up burning the first batch because yeah, my oven in ancient so of course oven times vary and now I keep a very close eye on them. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was an excellent recipe. I made these cookies at the same time I made a batch from a gourmet magazine. The gourmet recipe took twice as long and tasted very similar. I did use 1/4 tsp cardamom. In the future I might roll the cookies in raw sugar and I might add crystallized ginger (the other recipe called for this, and I enjoyed it; my boyfriend did not). Altogether an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've had to drastically increase the amount of ginger in a lot of recipes I've used in the past, but here the amount is perfect. I didn't have any molasses, so I just subbed honey instead, and I used half brown sugar and half white. My Dad is in his 60s and he likes to hark back to the days of truly 'gingery' biscuits and cakes, so it's a great compliment when he liked these biscuits, saying they matched up to his memories. The first time I baked these I cooked them as recommended, but after the first day they went a lot softer. Dad likes these to be crunchy so he can dunk them in tea. So I did cook these for a few minutes more the second time round - they're better the original way to be eaten on their own IMO, but my dad adores them crunchy with tea and is gladly chomping his way through the second batch at the moment. The second time I accidentally used half a tablespoon of cinnamon instead of a teaspoon. Still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States