Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I needed gingersnaps for a cheesecake crust so decided to make them myself and used this recipe. I baked the cookies longer than suggested because I wanted to make sure they were crispy. I used butter instead of margarine. Initially, DH and I both thought they lacked ginger flavor and I nearly threw away the ones I didn't use for the crust. But then with time, DH kept eating them and declared them to be the perfect gingersnap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is an Excellent ginger snap cookie recipe. They remind me of my childhood! Grandma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Excellent, I baked some hard to use for a crust and left some soft to snack on they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bugladynora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Artesia, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Delightful. I used an entire cup of Land O' Lakes Unsalted Butter for this recipe and came out with a dough that is easy to work with and cut shapes out of. These are one of my brother's favorites. He'll be so pleased and surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash.N.King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Added 1/4 tsp of cayenne, 1/4 tsp of green caramom, a dash of allspice, increased to 1.5 tlbsp of Ginger and still not spicy enough for me. Going to decrease butter/shortening next time and double spices, min.. These came out chewy vs crisp, but think I can get to where I like with some modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I nearly doubled the ginger but don't know if it was stale and used whole wheat flour. I also baked for almost 15 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I followed the suggestions of previous reviewers and added allspice, cardamom and black pepper. To finish the cookies I put about 2 tablespoons of crystalized ginger into the mini chopper until finely ground and mixed it with my sanding sugar before rolling the dough balls. An exceptional cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This recipe is great! So easy, fast, and tasty! I added 1/4 tsp cardamom and 1/2 tsp ground cloves for some extra spice. Also used 1 whole cup of butter. Baked 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I think I should change the name of the ones I made to Honey Spice Cookies: my kids came up with the idea to bake gingersnaps, and I said "yes" before checking the pantry. I was out of molasses and ginger! We used honey, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and cardamom (and sanding sugar on top) instead...FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I have tried many ginger / molasses cookies and this is by far my absolute favorite! AND SO EASY... I have a toddler, so baking isn't always convenient, but these are quick! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States