Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Grandma's gingersnaps lack the snap..cookie really spreads during baking and is soft, chewy and lacks snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattididit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This recipe will make me famous. :) Seriously, this is better than my grandma's recipe or my mom's. I made these this past Christmas and they were great. Then I made them again today and instead of margarine and I think butter flattens a cookie to much, I used butter flavored shortening (the major brand). I changed the serving to 144 and also added a teaspoon of cardamom (as someone here suggested) and leaned a little heavy on the ginger and cinnamon. These cookies are the best! Thanks for a great recipe RAMB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I subtituted unsalted butter for the margerine and added a tsp of cardamom. they tasted very buttery, so much that any other flavors were overwhelmed. They looked beautiful, and my husband who doesn't like the gingery ness of ginger snaps liked them a lot. Maybe my butter substitution ruined them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
So yummy! I followed the recipe to the letter (cooking them for 8 minutes worked perfectly), and the turned out wonderfully. I don't even like ginger snap cookies (I made them for my fiance), and I've been eating them non-stop... I'm going to have to get him to hide the cookie jar... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Not that exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
very good. I've tried this several times. I substitute one stick of butter for the 3/4 margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These gingersnaps are AMAZING! My father said he didn't like gingersnaps...until he had one of these! I used real butter instead of margarine and they came out beautifully. I do recommend being very generous with the size of your dough-balls. Some of my smaller ones came out a little too crispy for my taste. If you want good-sized soft gingersnaps, go big!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Have tried gingersnap after gingersnap recipe over the years. Finally, I've found THE ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I needed to bake more than 5 dozen cookies for a cookie swap and this was an easy and tasty option. I followed the recipe but might change it up a bit next time - overall very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
AHH so yummy! :) I ended up adding more flour to mine because I wasn't able to roll the dough into balls because it didn't stick! But having added more flour, they turned out SO AMAZING. Baked them for exactly 8 min and they turned out beautiful and ever so chewy. Truly delightful! Will probably try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States