Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Perfect chewy gingersnaps at 8.5 minutes in my oven. Used unsulphured molasses (Grandma's brand), and the cookies turned out beautifully with only a hint of the molasses flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
God bless your mother in law! What delicious cookies! I'll be proud to out them in my cookie baskets for Christmas gifts! Merry Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Tried this recipe and it the cookies came out very thin and chewy in the middle. followed the recipe to a TEE so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a good starter recipe. I doubled the cinnamon and added a teaspoon of allspice, which greatly enhanced the flavor. I also used butter rather than margarine. The cookies were perfectly chewy / crispy. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent cookie...absolutely perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Oh wow, these were fantastic!!! Only sub I used was butter for margarine. Results were crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside, thin, uniform, delicious cookies. My only regret is that I didn't make a double batch, because these bad boys were hard to leave alone after they were set on the cooling rack. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Too salty when I doubled the batch - I really like a gingery cookie so I took out the salt and reduced the baking soda and added extra ginger, cinnamon and some cloves - much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is dynamite!! I have tried the true recipe, then some little changes. Change 1 - I used vegetable oil and butter to make the 3/4 of a cup. Awesome. Change 2 - I used brown and white sugar to make the one cup. Awesomer! Change 3 - I use minced garlic that you can find in the asian cooking section of your local grocer. It gives it a nicer sharper ginger taste. Change 4 - I always add in some flavouring syrup (gingerbread or cinnamon brown sugar) to the dough before rolling.in the sugar. Gives it just another little flavour profile. I love these cookies, and have added them to my holiday recipes!! Thanks for the recipe!! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I had the same difficulty as some others, where the dough wasn't the right consistency for rolling so I made drop cookies instead. I'm curious if the white sugar is supposed to be confectioner's sugar? I assumed it meant granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
We love Ginger Snaps, and these are the best recipe I've found. My son says they are little meteorites from the planet Yum. And they are! I doubled the batch, which worked perfectly. I did add a tablespoon of VERY finely chopped crystalized ginger. I weighed the dough to get evenly-sized cookies... 18 grams is perfect. Baked in the covection oven at 325 degrees. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States