Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is dynamite!! I have tried the true recipe, then some little changes. Change 1 - I used vegetable oil and butter to make the 3/4 of a cup. Awesome. Change 2 - I used brown and white sugar to make the one cup. Awesomer! Change 3 - I use minced garlic that you can find in the asian cooking section of your local grocer. It gives it a nicer sharper ginger taste. Change 4 - I always add in some flavouring syrup (gingerbread or cinnamon brown sugar) to the dough before rolling.in the sugar. Gives it just another little flavour profile. I love these cookies, and have added them to my holiday recipes!! Thanks for the recipe!! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I had the same difficulty as some others, where the dough wasn't the right consistency for rolling so I made drop cookies instead. I'm curious if the white sugar is supposed to be confectioner's sugar? I assumed it meant granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
We love Ginger Snaps, and these are the best recipe I've found. My son says they are little meteorites from the planet Yum. And they are! I doubled the batch, which worked perfectly. I did add a tablespoon of VERY finely chopped crystalized ginger. I weighed the dough to get evenly-sized cookies... 18 grams is perfect. Baked in the covection oven at 325 degrees. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Amazing!! Best Gingersnaps I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Excellent ginger snap cookie. They are soft though, not a hard crisp cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
THE BEST!!! I did use butter, of course, and did add the cardamom. I had doubled the recipe, and instead of adding 2 cups of butter, I had used 1- 1/2 cups butter and 1/2 cup crisco. Exceptional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I thought the flavor of this cookie was delicious. And I did enjoy the crispy edges of the cookie. However, the dough was very sticky and difficult to roll into balls. I also prefer a thicker, puffier cookie. I believe with a few adjustments this recipe would be more along the lines of what I enjoy in a gingersnap. I probably won't make this recipe again - though they were tasty - I prefer thicker cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Delicious! I added a teaspoon of cardamon to the recipe as I'd seen in the comments and I baked them nearly twice as long as the directions suggests to have a crunchier cookie and still a somewhat chewy middle. Perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
So easy to make and so good! The only addition I did is add a little cracked pepper. 1/2 tsp or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Yum! I made these with gluten free flour and they were delicious. I didn't have molasses, and they would be better with it, but still good. Added extra spices but no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States