Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
gingersnaps have always been my favorite cookie but nobody but grandma can ever make them right. i thought i'd give it a try anyway and i had to substitute 3T of fresh ginger but it was more than fantastic - as good as or perhaps even better than my grandma's gingersnaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
These were quite good. I like a spicy cookie so I added a touch of cardamom, cloves and more cinnamon. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
These are perfect! I weant a little heavy on the ginger & they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
First, let me say that my cookies were delicious. Now let me say, they were not chewy, but more like fluffy in the center. Also they did not flatten out much. I used a mixer, perhaps that is why and I used “Splenda” and that may be why they were different. Maybe I should have flattened the cookie instead of leaving them in a ball. I have to work on this! Nothing wrong with the flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
These were really,really good.My nephew even made Gingerbread Men out of the dough & they came out really good. (10 minutes at 350) The only thing is they were just a tad salty-maybe a 1/4 tsp instead of a 1/2? Still 5-star tasty,though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have made this recipe for the last 3 years, my husband LOVES them! When I give them to friends and neighbors for Christmas they always come back for more!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These were awesome! I made them for the first time and they turned out just like the photo. I will definitely be adding these to my line-up of standard Christmas baking. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Delicious. But I like a SPICY cookie, so to this recipe I added 1/2 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp allspice, and 1/4 tsp cardamom. **Roll the cookie dough in TURBINADO SUGAR before baking for added taste/texture.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
The dough was on the messy side but the cookies came out well. I found that if you make them on the smaller side you get more of a snap. Ones that were on the larger side were softer & less uniform (therefore the baker ate those ;-) ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
As I was cooking the Gingersnaps, my husband said the cookies smelled really good and he's not a cookie fan. This recipe is outstanding and I'll be making more of these during the holidays. Note: I nearly bought Bear Rabbit mild flavor molasses but I bought the full flavor instead. Glad I did because the cookie flavor packs a nice punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States