Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
These cookies are delicious! I made them a little too big by mistake so they didn't turn out crispy or hard like traditional gingersnaps, they were quite soft but this made them taste just like the cookies you buy at our local Spicers (except Spicers have raisins or dates in them). They are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I followed the original recipe and they came out great! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We made these over christmas (really my sister made them) and followed the recipe to the letter. They were by far the favorite cookie of the weekend. The cookies came out crisp and thin. My husband and my father both love gingersnaps and both agreed these were better than what we normally buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie820

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is the second ginger snap recipe ive tried. The first one I got from a betty crocker cook book, it was ok, but it didnt turn out as good as i expected. about two weeks later my friend came over and we made these together. they are AMAZING cookies. We added about 1/2-1tsp of cloves, and doubled the cinnamon. great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessofnora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I've made these a few times, and every time, they come out nicely! One of my top cookie recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I used brown sugar and snuck in 1/4 tsp of ground black pepper. Nobody seemed to mind. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Perfect! Tastes like the Pepperidge Farm version. I used butter instead of margarine, which probably helped give it a little more "snap."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These have real personality! It's very strong, but not overpowering. I used 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter instead of 3/4 cup, and they came out perfect. Thought it would be a little healthier and didn't seem to compromise the final outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I've had this recipe passed down to me from my Grandma Klein and it's always a hit. We also add cloves and a teaspoon of vanilla to the mix as well as adding cinnamon to the 'decorative' sugar. YUM! (Another top tip... If the cookies get too dried out, put a piece of bread in your cookie tin and it will soften them back up.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Very easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States