Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I followed the recipe but my batter turned out more along the lines of cake batter when I used margarine. I switched to butter flavored crisco and the next batch turned out perfectly. I'm not totally sold on the ginger flavor. I'm not sure what this recipe is missing but it's missing something. Also, I had to bake them for 12 minutes to get them cooked. It's probably my oven. Overall, the flavor and texture is good but I'm still searching for my "go-to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julius8122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I followed this recipe minus the molasses, I figured it was going to come out a little odd. But to my surprise it came out wonderfully! I substituted maple syrup, I doubled the portion. Let me tell you, I was shocked at how good it was! Just enough gingery goodness and a touch of maple syrup! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleeslee84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These were absolutely perfect as is, my boyfriend and I ate all three sheets of cookies! In one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The first time I made these my friend came to my house and told me it smelled like Christmas and her grannies house. I figured out how to make the balls small enough before I spread them out using a little finger pat. I made them a second time for a potluck and I did something wrong because the cookies flattened on me, but my co-workers went to town on them and said they were divine. I like making them with Splenda and then rolling them in Turbinado (raw) sugar before they bake. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is a very good, simple ginger cookie. I used shortening instead of margarine and these turned out perfect for me. An extra special touch is to 'paint' each cookie with a glaze using a pastry brush. The glaze: powdered sugar, lemon extract and milk. Yum, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soda Springs, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Yup. Perfect cookies. I realized half way thru the recipe that I didn't have molassis so I used dark corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burr Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great recipe and a hit with my family. I doubled the ginger and they turned out just great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These cookies are incredible!! The continue to stay very soft and moist! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
These cookies are delicious! I made them a little too big by mistake so they didn't turn out crispy or hard like traditional gingersnaps, they were quite soft but this made them taste just like the cookies you buy at our local Spicers (except Spicers have raisins or dates in them). They are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I followed the original recipe and they came out great! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States