Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Excellent! I usually use imported Swedish gingersnaps for the crusts on my pumpkin cheesecakes (which have placed 1st in competition), but I ran out. I made these instead (very thin) with the following adaptations to mimick the Swedish Imported ones: add 1/2 tsp ground cloves, and instead of 1TB ground ginger, I used 2 tsp ginger paste (bought from the produce section). These are excellent-just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mel

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I cut the ginger down by about 3/4 tsp (personal preference) and substituted pure maple syrup for molasses because it's what i had on hand. They are heavenly!!! Cooked for 8-9 minutes and they are crispy on the pan side and chewy in the middle. Yum. Mine came out quite flat though, but maybe my baking soda was too old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These cookies are the best gingersnap's ever...so delicious and easy to make. I make them ever Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
When I make these they are gone in no time!! My only addition is a little black pepper to add a little heat. I love these and they make the house smell wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The only addition I made: 1 tsp cloves and 1 tsp allspice. Good gracious! EVERYONE LOVED THEM!! Thank you so much for a great recipe, a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Barr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Simply the best ginger cookie I have ever eaten! They are soft, not hard and crunchy like normal gingersnaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These were pretty awesome. I crushed the heck out of them to make a crust for my double-layer pumpkin cheesecake. It was out. of. this. world! I do recomend that you use brown sugar instead of white, it tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very tasty cookies. I used butter instead of margarine but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrighkar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great recipe! I also used cardamom as suggested by others- I like gingersnaps with a kick! I topped my cookies with crystalized ginger- You can find it at import markets an natural food stores. It is a really intense, though sweet ginger. If you use it, chop it up before you top your cookies with it, it usually come in chunks.A little goes a long way. I used butter too, it made the cookies chewier, but not greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This has to be the very best cookie I have ever baked or eaten. (I did add the cardomon as I read in one of the other reviews. 1/4 Tsp per recipe and it makes a million dollar difference.) This will stay a favorite at my home. Recipe makes 5 dozen and enough for one big cookie. Here in Las Vegas,Nv. it takes 7.5 minutes in a perheated oven. (I always use unsalted butter also)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States