Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Someone told me these must be made of gold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These are awesome, I end up doubling or tripling the spices and I always put cardamom for extra spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Funk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My review is based on my version (my aunt's, actually, based on the version from her/my mom's childhood). It is identical except in two aspects: we use Crisco instead of margarine, and we chill the dough before rolling. I suspect that just makes the dough less sticky to the hand rather than making it impossible to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jobiska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a FANTASTIC, slightly spicy true-to-grandma's house kind of gingersnap. I have made this cookie a few times, varying the amounts of spices occasionally, always with great results! I added some cardamom, as suggested by another reviewer and it really brings out the flavor. I rolled my 1 inch balls in 'sugar in the raw' and due to the large crystal size, they came out looking just like store bought, maybe better! The cookies flatten out quite a bit, so space them a little wider than you think on the first batch. A definite keeper for the recipe box; my family keeps asking me for them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Medina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Lovely, they were quick to prepare, and baked off wonderfully. They remained slightly chewy, which is what i like in a cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
waaaaaaay waaaaaay waaaaaaay too much ginger!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
OMG these cookies are AMAZING! They were so easy to make and came out so soft. My boyfriend ate half of the batch the same night I made them. My only suggestion would be, where it says 1/2 cup of white sugar for decoration, scoop out a 1/4 cup first so that the sugar isn't wasted if you are not making a second batch of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great cookie! I baked for 12 minutes and they came out crispy but not crumbly. One problem, too much salt! I'd reduce down to 1/8 tsp instead of 1/2 next time I make these. The raw dough was a bit salty but I thought after rolling in sugar and baking this would go away, but it didn't. Still really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
DELICIOUS. moist, thin, spicy, and sweet! plus, they were really easy~ only changes were to sub in butter for marg., and add a tsp of vanilla. the cookies do spread a bit, so make sure to keep them 2" apart (or whatever's good for the size of cookie you're making).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These cookies are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States