Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
When I make these they are gone in no time!! My only addition is a little black pepper to add a little heat. I love these and they make the house smell wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The only addition I made: 1 tsp cloves and 1 tsp allspice. Good gracious! EVERYONE LOVED THEM!! Thank you so much for a great recipe, a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Simply the best ginger cookie I have ever eaten! They are soft, not hard and crunchy like normal gingersnaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These were pretty awesome. I crushed the heck out of them to make a crust for my double-layer pumpkin cheesecake. It was out. of. this. world! I do recomend that you use brown sugar instead of white, it tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very tasty cookies. I used butter instead of margarine but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrighkar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great recipe! I also used cardamom as suggested by others- I like gingersnaps with a kick! I topped my cookies with crystalized ginger- You can find it at import markets an natural food stores. It is a really intense, though sweet ginger. If you use it, chop it up before you top your cookies with it, it usually come in chunks.A little goes a long way. I used butter too, it made the cookies chewier, but not greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This has to be the very best cookie I have ever baked or eaten. (I did add the cardomon as I read in one of the other reviews. 1/4 Tsp per recipe and it makes a million dollar difference.) This will stay a favorite at my home. Recipe makes 5 dozen and enough for one big cookie. Here in Las Vegas,Nv. it takes 7.5 minutes in a perheated oven. (I always use unsalted butter also)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
These were delicious! I added about 2 tsp of ginger to it, and I also added a little more flour because somehow the 2c made mine very very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
these are really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I followed the recipe but my batter turned out more along the lines of cake batter when I used margarine. I switched to butter flavored crisco and the next batch turned out perfectly. I'm not totally sold on the ginger flavor. I'm not sure what this recipe is missing but it's missing something. Also, I had to bake them for 12 minutes to get them cooked. It's probably my oven. Overall, the flavor and texture is good but I'm still searching for my "go-to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julius8122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States