Grandma's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Great recipe! It's super simple and everyone who's sampled the batches I've made has loved them. The 8 minute bake time makes for a nice soft cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by johanna
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Flavor was there, but I ended up having to add a cup more flour to it in order to handle the dough... even then I had to chill them. I'm also sad that they didn't "look" like gingersnaps.. they were very anemic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is a cookie recipe with extra ginger. It certainly isn't a Ginger SNAP recipe. Guess I'll just have to keep looking. I use allrecipes.com all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Very tasty cookie! I used salted butter instead of margarine and I didnt add the salt it called for. I also added about a tsp of cloves. The dough was way too loose to roll. I spooned it out and sprinkled the sugar on. It worked. They are really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I had to make them for our bowling team, so I doubled the recipe. I didn't have molasses, so I used Log Cabin syrup. Had to add a little flour to make dough hold together, and followed the recipe otherwise.I rolled them in brown sugar before baking. I'm calling them Ginger-Doodles because they came out wonderfully chewy with just a hint of crispy outside. They are delicious and I'll make them the same way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hfoster
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Best gingersnap recipe! I used butter instead of margarine and these came out exactly like a gingersnap should- crisp around the edges and a little chewy in the middle. And spicy! Loved them and so did everyone else I made them for! They went great with the pumpkin dip I made too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
For some reason, my cookies turned out terrible. Like, REALLY nasty. There seemed to be way too much butter. Maybe I didn't follow the recipe right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Although it was a little messy rolling into the balls, once I rolled them in sugar, it helped. Hubby loved them. In fact it's a very good thing I opted to stick with the "makes 36" ingredients, as they're nearly half gone in 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
The cookies tasted really good! I reduced the white sugar by half and increased the baking time to 21 minutes. I also used butter instead of margarine and increased the ginger by 50%. You have to bake them for a lot of extra time if you want them to actually snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I followed the recipe but I used butter, soft whole wheat flour, organic molasses and organic raw sugar in place of the margarine, all purpose flour, molasses and white sugar. The cookies were delicious! I even used some of the batter to make gingerbread men for my kids!! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States