Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by APRILPEKOE
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
First time making Ginger Cookies - turned out great! Used all butter over shortening and skipped the sifting ;) very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILPEKOE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I substituted Land O Lakes Butter in place of the shortening and added 1 tsp of Cloves and 1/4 tsp of Nutmeg to the recipe. Rave reviews with a 4 and 12 yr old boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These were really tasty! I didn't change anything other than the bake time - 15 minutes instead of 10 so they would be crispy. I think next time, I would double the spices and maybe add some black pepper for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Like many others I added ground cloves and nutmeg but otherwise kept to the exact recipe. I like a crisp, not chewy ginger snap so the first batch I used my small scoop (a little over a tablespoon) and flattened the dough thin covering the dough with a piece of parchment and using the bottom of a glass. The cookies were way too big but perfect thickness with mostly crunch but bendable with a slight chewiness...however no crackling and the cookies were quite frankly butt ugly. Next batch same scoop, hand pressed the dough only slightly and cooked for a total of 12 minutes. Nice crackling, slightly darker about the size of the Archway ginger cookies, still had chewiness which was really good but I wanted a crisp cookie. First batch made 10 to a half sheet, second made 12 to a half sheet. Last batch I divided my tablespoon scoop of dough in half, slightly hand pressed on the dough and cooked for 14 minutes. Perfect size for a ginger snap, crisp through and through, slightly browner but not at all burnt with the nice crackle. This last batch made 2 dozen to a half sheet. All in all I loved every cookie I made from this recipe, each for it's own benefits and although I'm not one for chewy gingersnaps, I will make the larger cookie again as the chewiness was slight and perfect for a larger cookie. I will probably dip the bottoms of the small snaps in some bittersweet chocolate for an added twist. Great recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent cookie. I was worried that they would be dry since the dough seemed coarse and didn't hold together well but it wasn't a problem. I smooshed the dough into balls, rolled them in sugar and they came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
These are simple to make and delicious. I even skip the sifting and blend the dry ingredients in my KitchenAid Stand Mixer. I substitute non-hydrogenated shortening and they turn out beautifully. They don't last long in our house:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Loved these cookies!! I used a vegan butter spread in place of the shortening and they turned out fantastic. My husband loved them. I also added 1/4 tsp of cloves per other reviews but I probably could have added more. They don't have a huge bit to them but they still taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
DELICIOUSLY PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Just made these and absolutely love them! They look so pretty! Didn't have a sifter, so used a whisk and worked out perfect. Made the recipe according to recipe - only thing I did differently because a few reviews mentioned "needing a kick"... I added some Ground Allspice to my cinnamon sugar when I rolled the cookie balls.. Was perfect, not overpowering, but just a hint of "that kick". Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States