Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I've made over 1000 of these cookies to send downrange last year for the holidays and I'll be making 1000 more this year. They travel well and everyone loves them. Thank you for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia Priestley
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Awesome receipe! A bit time consuming but still awesome I added a few things into the receipe like more molasses about 1/2 c , 2 tbsp of orange juice and a pinch of ground cloves and oh man my house smells amazing. I also chilled my dough and it made it a bit easier to make the balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Priestley
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My Mom just passed away at 96 and had used this recipe since I can remember. It is wonderful and a favorite of everyone's. They were served at her funeral..............GREAT RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I am SO disappointed! I used butter instead of shortening, and I used stevia instead of sugar and whole wheat flour. They are dry, didn't spread. It's like eating sawdust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tira Atkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
It was the best Gingersnap cookies ever PS you might need to bring the time down to 8 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Delicious! I have been trying a new recipe a week just to expand my horizons. This one I tried at Christmas and it has become a family favorite. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraceyClem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Curlew, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I enjoy ginger cookies with my coffee and these were amazing, quick and wonderful! Its nice to have homemade weekly ginger cookies :) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I substituted all butter instead of shortening too... was veryyyy veryyyy delicius!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
These cookies were awesome! I made a few changes (mainly through accident or limited supplies), and the cookies came out perfect! First, I substituted all butter because I don't cook with shortening. I read online that 3/4 cup is 1 and 1/2 sticks of butter. I used two tablespoons of ginger (because I am an idiot and read the recipe wrong), but they came out lovely as a mid-range spicy cookie and not at all overpowering. For the cinnamon sugar I mixed 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon, 1/2 tablespoon ginger, and 1/8 teaspoon salt (the salt really accents the spiciness well and is very subtle). I had some of the sugar and spice mix left over, so I put it in a sealed container to use on something else later. I happen to love super spicy ginger snaps, so I may add more ginger (and possibly a hint of nutmeg) next time. New favorite cookie for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States