Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My 3 year old son and I made these last night. It was a really kid-friendly recipe in regards to his ability to help and the dough itself wasn't too sticky or gooey so he was able to roll cookie balls which he loved. I was also surprised at how much he loved the cookies and even the batter. I kept catching him eating it raw which, given the molasses and the ginger, I was surprised at. The cookies are not sweet and definitely have an adult flavor, but rolling them in the cinnamon sugar before baking is a great way to off-set the almost spicy nature of the cookie. I've added the recipe to my family book and will definitely make these again soon. Thinking I may pair it with a cream cheese frosting to make little cookie sandwiches as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Fantastic Recipe. I actually triple sifted my dry ingredients as I only had all purpose flour on hand. I was generous with the ginger and also added 1/4 tsp of cardamom. Bake time was right on. I actually tried 3 different bake times on 3 different trays of cookies; 8, 9 and 10 minutes. This yielded a perfect range of chewy through to crunchy ... each tasting just as good as the other. I recommend you try sandwiching the chewiest of the cookies between a spoonful of rich vanilla ice cream. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skonskyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I also substituted butter. Followed the recipe completely, otherwise. Turned out SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made 1/2 recipe.. The dough was too sticky I had to add 3 tbsp. flour and refrigerate dough poss. because I couldn't do 1/2 egg. I added 1 cApful rum. (CAp not CUp)I added 1/4 teaspoon cloves. I baked at 375 high altitude (13-16 min) I had enough for two cookie sheets batches. 1) 1st Batch: Gingerbread Cookies..No Snap! 2) 2nd Batch: I added a sprinkle more ginger and cloves. This is one half recipe, so a "pinch" each. Then I added Hot Chile which I keep in a small shaker, clearly labeled. I live in the South west. This is genuine Hot Chile. If you use this chili, you know what a sprinkle or "to taste" means. Add that much. Now these cookies Snap! If you like Snap and have Hot Chili, add a sprinkle or two. That will add snap to the cookies, guaranteed! I will make these cookies again..Ginger Snap with a Snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This recipe makes a great crispy-chewy ginger cookie! I made it exactly as the recipe says and then added 1 tsp of cloves as recommended by another reviewer because I, too, like a spicy cookie. Great suggestion! With my last batch, I decided to try adding some raisins to the dough, and I have to say that I think this batch is the absolute best. Thank you for sharing this delicious cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by langstonjd
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
gingersnaps are one of my favorite cookies and this is a great recipe. It is a cool rainy day here and my kitchen smells wonderfull, going to enjoy a hot cup of tea and a few snaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by langstonjd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Erickson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe and found they were not "snappy" enough. Should be called Ginger Chews..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a very flavorful cookie but it is not a snap. The center was chewy; I was looking for a cookie with a crunch. The person who I made them for thought they were delicious, but she was expecting a crunch too. BTW, I made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
We pressed it pretty flat for thin crisp cookies; we pressed them down with a buttered glass with sugar on it; and we just let be on the sheet for chewy. We also used butter instead of shortening; added a little nutmeg, clove, and used brown sugar. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I used organic REAL butter, half white flour and half whole wheat flour and organic sugar and organic molasses. I think they're much too sweet and too chewy. I'd prefer this type of cookie be crunchy. I recommend less sugar and cooking them at 325 for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States