Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The only thing I changed was the shortening. I used butter in its place. I followed all the directions in this recipe and it came out beautifully. Easily the best cookies I've made. I'm keeping this recipe and if I need to make more in the future, I'm definitely using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
As a confirmed chocoholic, I'm surprised to find this is my now absolute favorite cookie. Made them for the hubs, who is a molasses/ginger nut and WOW. Rich, chewy goodness! Made NO changes to the recipe..how original. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Have made these for years passed down from my grandma the only difference is she added 1/2 tsp cloves and rolled them into a ball and rolled in granulated sugar then cut the ball in half put on baking sheet cut side down, press down to flatten a bit.(Mrs Ayers Receipt, a Grandmother's receipt) An absolute favorite for the holidays or whenever I can be talked into making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by APRILPEKOE
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
First time making Ginger Cookies - turned out great! Used all butter over shortening and skipped the sifting ;) very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILPEKOE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I substituted Land O Lakes Butter in place of the shortening and added 1 tsp of Cloves and 1/4 tsp of Nutmeg to the recipe. Rave reviews with a 4 and 12 yr old boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These were really tasty! I didn't change anything other than the bake time - 15 minutes instead of 10 so they would be crispy. I think next time, I would double the spices and maybe add some black pepper for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Like many others I added ground cloves and nutmeg but otherwise kept to the exact recipe. I like a crisp, not chewy ginger snap so the first batch I used my small scoop (a little over a tablespoon) and flattened the dough thin covering the dough with a piece of parchment and using the bottom of a glass. The cookies were way too big but perfect thickness with mostly crunch but bendable with a slight chewiness...however no crackling and the cookies were quite frankly butt ugly. Next batch same scoop, hand pressed the dough only slightly and cooked for a total of 12 minutes. Nice crackling, slightly darker about the size of the Archway ginger cookies, still had chewiness which was really good but I wanted a crisp cookie. First batch made 10 to a half sheet, second made 12 to a half sheet. Last batch I divided my tablespoon scoop of dough in half, slightly hand pressed on the dough and cooked for 14 minutes. Perfect size for a ginger snap, crisp through and through, slightly browner but not at all burnt with the nice crackle. This last batch made 2 dozen to a half sheet. All in all I loved every cookie I made from this recipe, each for it's own benefits and although I'm not one for chewy gingersnaps, I will make the larger cookie again as the chewiness was slight and perfect for a larger cookie. I will probably dip the bottoms of the small snaps in some bittersweet chocolate for an added twist. Great recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent cookie. I was worried that they would be dry since the dough seemed coarse and didn't hold together well but it wasn't a problem. I smooshed the dough into balls, rolled them in sugar and they came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
These are simple to make and delicious. I even skip the sifting and blend the dry ingredients in my KitchenAid Stand Mixer. I substitute non-hydrogenated shortening and they turn out beautifully. They don't last long in our house:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States