Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
These cookies were amazing! I followed the advice from some other reviewers and added 1 tsp of fresh minced ginger, along with the already existing ginger powder. I was concerned that it would be too strong, but it wasn't. Instead it added a nice kick (although my husband and I do like ginger)! I used butter instead of shortening and baked the cookies for 10 minutes. I took them out of the oven when they hadn't yet cracked, and they started to crack as I was putting them on the cooling rack. Again, from the advice of a fellow reviewer, I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon for the cinnamon sugar mix. I also used pure molasses instead of dark, and it wasn't a problem. These cookies were so chewy and tasted great, not only fresh out of the oven, but also the next day! If you are going on a diet, don't make these cookies because it will be hard to eat only one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Giffmommy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I substituted butter for shortening and used 1 1/2 tbsp fresh grated ginger and they were AMAZING! Perfect texture, perfect flavor... Everyone (even my picky eater) LOVED these cookies!! I will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made these cookies for a cookie exchange at work and HOLY COW they turned out so good! Defiantly keeping this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great dairy-free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I used butter instead of margarine and like why my cookies were pretty flat. The flavor was good and the cookies were nice and soft - love the soft cookie! Others said crisp so not sure of the difference. I will make these again! First time that my kids tried gingersnaps and they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The only thing I changed was the shortening. I used butter in its place. I followed all the directions in this recipe and it came out beautifully. Easily the best cookies I've made. I'm keeping this recipe and if I need to make more in the future, I'm definitely using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
As a confirmed chocoholic, I'm surprised to find this is my now absolute favorite cookie. Made them for the hubs, who is a molasses/ginger nut and WOW. Rich, chewy goodness! Made NO changes to the recipe..how original. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Have made these for years passed down from my grandma the only difference is she added 1/2 tsp cloves and rolled them into a ball and rolled in granulated sugar then cut the ball in half put on baking sheet cut side down, press down to flatten a bit.(Mrs Ayers Receipt, a Grandmother's receipt) An absolute favorite for the holidays or whenever I can be talked into making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by APRILPEKOE
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
First time making Ginger Cookies - turned out great! Used all butter over shortening and skipped the sifting ;) very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILPEKOE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I substituted Land O Lakes Butter in place of the shortening and added 1 tsp of Cloves and 1/4 tsp of Nutmeg to the recipe. Rave reviews with a 4 and 12 yr old boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States