Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
It's a good basic recipe. The third time I made this recipe, I trebled the amount of ground ginger, which probably has more to do with chain grocery story sources than anything. I also chopped candied ginger into small pieces and incorporated that into the flour mixture...adds incredible texture and taste! Lastly, I used raw sugar to roll the cookie-balls in before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Absolutely fabulous! I added a bit of ground cloves and nutmeg to the batter (a little less than a tsp. each).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
The Recipe itself is excellent but I use mc cormick pumpkin pie spice instead, and mine came out very fluffy so next time I will use just one teaspoon of baking soda, instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne Crouch
Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
my husband loves it! he wants to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
These cookies are awesome. I did add one tsp. cloves as suggested by another reader.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Added 1/4 t. clove to spice it up a bit. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Awesome and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
It was good but i think next time I will use butter instead of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Made this first time for this past Christmas with several other cookies.....Everyone Loved them and asked me to make more!! This recipe doesn't make enough for my clan!! I'll have to triple the recipe!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beva Airhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Connolly
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
WOW!!! Amazing cookies and so easy. I did what some others suggested, using butter instead of shortening and I added 1/8 tsp of ground cloves. Did I say these are amazing? Winner winner chicken dinner. Holy ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Connolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States