Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I read through the reviews very carefully before making this, which I think was my first mistake. I usually don't do that and fly by the seat of my shorts. I doubled the recipe so I could freeze some for busy mornings, added more baking powder for a fluffier pancake, doubled the spices and added nutmeg and allspice and I cut the water down to two cups, as a lot of people mentioned that the batter was way too wet. My pancakes were pretty thick and fluffy but they were a pain to cook. The spices I doubled and added were perfect, it's just that maybe cutting back the liquid to two cups was too much? Next time, I'll cut it back only a half cup and I think it might be perfect. It really does need the extra baking powder for a fluffier pancake. That being said, tasty pancake. Even with my flub-up's, this recipe made 15 large pancakes when doubled. Out of the 15, I had three leftover. My boys loved them. I had a small bite of one and thought it was mighty tasty. My son actually remarked that "these are the best pancakes EVER, Mom".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very good recipe. I didn't have molasses, so I substituted it with 3 Tbsp firmly packed brown sugar. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elmira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Delicious gingerbread taste. Smelled and tasted amazing. The only reason that this is not a 5 star recipe is because they came out a little flat. I like my pancakes a little fluffier. I'll keep the spices, vanilla and molasses and try to alter the recipe for a fluffier result next time. Will definitely keep working on this recipe though, because it was a hit with my ginger-living husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
everyone loved them!!!! These were fantastic, I followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Doubled recipe, reduced water by 1/2 cup overall and added a pinch more spices. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
not bad, i added 2 TBSP of brown sugar and another 1/2 tsp of baking powder. made the house smell like christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
didn't change the recipe..all the kids could say was these are the best. We like thin pancakes so thats great. Not fluffy..Perfect thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. Batter is way too thin, and the pancakes are very thin too. Sorry, though the taste is good, the pancakes look awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hcorianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woudenberg, Utrecht, Netherlands
Living In: Ede, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Mmm, delicious! Thanks CKincaid1! The flavor was exactly what we'd hoped for. We reduced the water to 1 c. and I wish we hadn't. They were a little too thick. Excellent with whipped cream, maple syrup, bananas and strawberries. Or by themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Love these!!! Thanks to your wonderful Grammie!! I made these this morning for my 2 little girls and myself and we just loved them. I am going to put the leftovers in the toaster oven tomorrow for breakfast for them before school!! Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States