Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made for Christmas breakfast. Doubled the spice, added some nutmeg and allspice. Added more baking sode to increase fluffiness as the previous reviewers stated (thank goodness!!). They ended up nice and fluffy, though they were still somewhat dense. I was disappointed in the flavor - I wanted something more pungently cookie-like. It was a nice twist, but didn't live up to my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Conway Duran

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I love these pancakes! I made a small mistake when I first made them and added 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of baking soda....but, the pancakes turned out great and fluffy. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
What a great idea! 2 of my favorites - gingerbread and pancakes. I loved these pancakes, but I have given 4 stars as I wish they were fluffier. Mine also turned out darker than the photos others have posted. It may have something to do with the type of molasses I used. Not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Loved these pancakes! Added about 1 teaspoon ginger and 2 teaspoons cinnamon as another reviewer suggested and they were perfect! Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. Batter is way too thin, and the pancakes are very thin too. Sorry, though the taste is good, the pancakes look awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hcorianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woudenberg, Utrecht, Netherlands
Living In: Ede, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made these this morning. I thought they were bland. Only alteration I made was that since I did not have any molasses I substituted with brown sugar. I was hoping they would taste more like a gingerbread cookie. My almost 4 year old did not like them and requested his normal bowl of oatmeal for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Mmm, delicious! Thanks CKincaid1! The flavor was exactly what we'd hoped for. We reduced the water to 1 c. and I wish we hadn't. They were a little too thick. Excellent with whipped cream, maple syrup, bananas and strawberries. Or by themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These were good, although the flavor wasn't very strong. I doubled the spices as others suggested and increased the baking powder a touch. I also decreased the water by about 1/4 cup. They came out well when it comes to texture and I will probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This recipe, as written, makes a batter that is way too thin, bland and doesn't rise enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These taste more like plain molasses pancakes than 'gingerbread'. I would reduce the molasses to just a couple of tablespoons next time. They were still pretty good with maple syrup and vanilla ice cream though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States