Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
We had this on Christmas morning. I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
made the big soft gingerbread cookies this Christmas and loved them...got me into gingerbread so I thought I would make these for the kidlets. Followed recipe to the tee and we did not love these pancakes. Really strong molasses flavour and the consistency is really not like a regular pancake, more like a cake. We love big fluffy pancakes so might just try our regular pancake recipe and add some ginger and cinnamon next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I am eating the last of my first batch of these pancakes as I type. I made a single batch exactly as directed. Not bad! They are a thin pancake, almost a crepe, but the flavor is wonderful (as is the smell as they cook), served with plain ol' pancake syrup on top and cheesy scrambled eggs on the side. I will probably experiment to fluff them up a little bit next time (less water? more baking powder?), but my husband said there is nothing wrong with a thin pancake and my children all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
A bit too thin. Next time I'll cut back on the water, increase the amount of baking powder and use 3/4 C. of whole wheat flour. I like the fact that this recipe did not call for milk. Delicious. You don't even need maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella M. Michel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I put 4 stars because we had to make a couple adjustments. Otherwise, these were so good and everyone loved them (even the kids)! I would do 2 tsp of baking powder and 1 cup of milk instead of water. They turn out fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I added 1/2 cup brown sugar to the ingredients, 1 tsp ground cloves and i used milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Way too much water. Just ok flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I really liked these, but had to add some cloves and brown sugar to boost the flavor. I made these in advance for our Christmas Eve breakfast, and I know my girls will love them. They're fun to decorate like gingerbread boy faces also--don't use white chocolate chips because they burn, but white sprinkles are adorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Simple, easy and tasty! Made exactly as written for this round. Think next time I'd add a bit of nutmeg. But great as is written. My picky and unadventurous eater asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I agree with most of the reviews that you will need to increase amount of the cinnamon and ginger for flavor. After my batter was ready, I tasted and it was still missing that great gingerbread flavor I was looking for. Then the light turned on in my head, :) and I went straight to the pantry and grabbed one large piece (depending on how strong you want the ginger flavor, can add more or less) of crystallized ginger, chopped it up into small pieces and mixed in the batter, made the pancakes and there it was! Whala! Hummm so amazingly delicious!!! Now THAT made it 5 star! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States