Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Made these christmas morning and they are delicious and SO easy to make! LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephbolton1986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These are my absolute favorite pancakes.... they are perfect with only a slight drizzle of syrup.. and plain. I always double the recipe, add a couple table spoons of brown sugar, and increase the baking powder by 1/2 teaspoon. we turn it into a gingerbread day and munch on them plain ALL day long. My daughters love them :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These pancakes had a good flavor, but turned out pretty thin. I think next time I'd cut down on the water, since we like our pancakes a little thicker. But they're really good with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I was very excited about this recipe and enjoyed the pancakes a lot during the holiday season. I am a fan of a thin, crepe like pancake so these were right on target for me on texture and fluff. I thought that the gingerbread taste was mild, so like some other reviewers I think I would adjust some of the spices in the future. Overall they were delicious and the family ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were fantastic! We sprinkled them with a little powdered sugar yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittanybench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Make sure you don't over mix the batter, or the pancakes will be flat and rubbery. The first time I made this, it was a flop, but it was my own fault. I definitely read in too much of the reviews. When I made this again, I reduced the water to just one cup, and instead of baking soda, I added another teaspoon of baking powder. I agree that the gingerbread flavor was not very strong, but my kids loved it! I also was out of molasses, so I subbed maple syrup (maybe why the flavor was milder?)Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
After reading some of the reviews, I decreased the ater to 1 1/4 cups. I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 3/4 teaspoon of baking soda. I also had a smidgen of cloves. The pancakes turned out light and fluffy. However, the gingerbread flavor was a it lacking. Next time I will increase the spice amount and add a couple tablespoons of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These were okay. I do like less fluffy pancakes so the texture was good but the flavor was too weak. I am still looking/experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I love gingerbread, but these are kind of not to my liking... They make the house smell nice though which is why they get 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Delicious! I followed recipe other than adding some extra of the spices and topping with some toasted nuts. I would recommend using real maple syrup, agave nectar, or top with fresh whipped cream for a more decadent pancake. My fiance awoke to spicy, warm, and comforting smells. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States