Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
My son has a lot of allergies so I used a rice flour mix and flax seed as an egg substitute. I usually make buttermilk pancakes so I used 1 cup of soy milk for the water; it was rather thick so I added about another cup of water to thin it out. I admittedly (and a little ashamedly) forgot to add the molasses/brown sugar because making the substitutes distracted me, so my husband didn't enjoy it so much, but my son ate all on his plate, and that is a huge accomplishment, so I will definitely try these again. It's been difficult for us to find a bread-like product that my son will eat that is allergen-free, so finding this recipe has been such a blessing to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
They were good with maple syrup and cool whip on top. Next time I would add a little bit of sugar to the mix and they would be good plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great recipe....I took other reviewers suggestions and doubled most of the spices, I also increased the baking soda to make them more fluffy. Oh, and I also decreased the liquid a bit, and even tried one batch using soy milk nog.....it was super yummy! I would certainly make these again, especially with the molasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Good recipe but needed a few minor adjustments. I upped the amount of flour to 2 cups, added more spices (1 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves and 1 tsp of vanilla). I also used 1% milk instead of water. Turned out great! Not to thin or thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Thank you! What a unique recipe. It's nice to have a pancake recipe without milk! I got 18 VERY small pancakes out of this. I made the recipe as written except I doubled the baking powder and soda, as another reviewer suggested, so the pancakes wouldn't be so thin, and I doubled the ginger and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very filling! Really did taste like gingerbread.I was reminded of the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Tasty! I used part OJ and part water. I'd make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Made these christmas morning and they are delicious and SO easy to make! LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephbolton1986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These are my absolute favorite pancakes.... they are perfect with only a slight drizzle of syrup.. and plain. I always double the recipe, add a couple table spoons of brown sugar, and increase the baking powder by 1/2 teaspoon. we turn it into a gingerbread day and munch on them plain ALL day long. My daughters love them :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These pancakes had a good flavor, but turned out pretty thin. I think next time I'd cut down on the water, since we like our pancakes a little thicker. But they're really good with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States