Grandma's Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Way too much water. Just ok flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I really liked these, but had to add some cloves and brown sugar to boost the flavor. I made these in advance for our Christmas Eve breakfast, and I know my girls will love them. They're fun to decorate like gingerbread boy faces also--don't use white chocolate chips because they burn, but white sprinkles are adorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Simple, easy and tasty! Made exactly as written for this round. Think next time I'd add a bit of nutmeg. But great as is written. My picky and unadventurous eater asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I agree with most of the reviews that you will need to increase amount of the cinnamon and ginger for flavor. After my batter was ready, I tasted and it was still missing that great gingerbread flavor I was looking for. Then the light turned on in my head, :) and I went straight to the pantry and grabbed one large piece (depending on how strong you want the ginger flavor, can add more or less) of crystallized ginger, chopped it up into small pieces and mixed in the batter, made the pancakes and there it was! Whala! Hummm so amazingly delicious!!! Now THAT made it 5 star! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Substituted the water for 1 cup of skim milk, and heaped up each portion of the spices just a bit. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Good, but the batter did not rise well. Doubled spices, extra tsp baking powder and 1/4 less water. Try with even less water next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
My son has a lot of allergies so I used a rice flour mix and flax seed as an egg substitute. I usually make buttermilk pancakes so I used 1 cup of soy milk for the water; it was rather thick so I added about another cup of water to thin it out. I admittedly (and a little ashamedly) forgot to add the molasses/brown sugar because making the substitutes distracted me, so my husband didn't enjoy it so much, but my son ate all on his plate, and that is a huge accomplishment, so I will definitely try these again. It's been difficult for us to find a bread-like product that my son will eat that is allergen-free, so finding this recipe has been such a blessing to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
They were good with maple syrup and cool whip on top. Next time I would add a little bit of sugar to the mix and they would be good plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great recipe....I took other reviewers suggestions and doubled most of the spices, I also increased the baking soda to make them more fluffy. Oh, and I also decreased the liquid a bit, and even tried one batch using soy milk nog.....it was super yummy! I would certainly make these again, especially with the molasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Good recipe but needed a few minor adjustments. I upped the amount of flour to 2 cups, added more spices (1 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves and 1 tsp of vanilla). I also used 1% milk instead of water. Turned out great! Not to thin or thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States