Grandma's Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
It is very easy ours turned out, soft and smooth! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This has been my go-to fudge sauce for years. Never fails to turn out the creamiest sauce EVER. If you follow the instructions, you can't fail. NOTE: If you want flavored chocolate, other extracts can be added in place of the vanilla. Peppermint extract is a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I saw this on the new recipes page, and I decided to try it. I thought this tasted good, especially for using fairly common cubard staples. I used the calculate button and made 2 servings, which ended up being easily like 4-5 servings. I only had semi-sweet 1 oz squares and just used that and regular milk. The key to these type of fudge sauces is to make sure to never cook them above low, as suggested, the entire time. On my stove that is button 3 typically. Temperatures above that will turn the sugar/sauce gritty. Tastes good with just a little on some vanilla ice cream. On the ice cream it also thickens up, and strangely tastes a little less overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Great recipe! This is what I did different: Used only 2 1/2 cups sugar, and only about 3/4 the can of evap. milk. Also I alternated adding the sugar and milk into the pan, it kept the thickness more even. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have been using this recipe for a couple of years. It is so good you will never be satisfied with store bought ice cream topping again. Easy and fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Perfection! I was on a quest to find the perfect hot fudge sauce to make for prize gifts for my daughter-in-law-to-be's bridal shower. My search is over. I followed this recipe to a T and it was exactly what I was looking for. Other recipes I came across just didn't have the deep fudge flavor this one has. I think using the unsweetened chocolate is the ticket. I always use Domino sugar in my baking and cooking. I think it seems to dissolve more smoothly. Absolutely scrumptious and will be my go-to recipe for fudge sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I made this recipe for a group of ladies and I was totally pleased with the results. It was a very creamy, smooth chocolate chocolate sauce. It headed up very well and was wonderful over ice cream. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeaEtta
Home Town: New Boston, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great hot fudge sauce. It took mine longer than 7 minutes to thicken enough though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was good, however next time I'm going to use the suggestions of what lovetocook said they did. Reduce the sugar and the evaporated milk. It was tasty and delicious, in fact, I eat it now currently straight from the jar. :) But, it was a tad too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This recipe has everything you could want. It is made with ingredients readily available in your pantry, it has a wonderful chocolate flavor, and has a beautifully smooth and glossy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States