Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
WOOOOOO-HOOOOOOOO and YUMMMMMMMO!!! What a delicious cake! I doubled the recipe for a bundt pan- used 1c whole wheat flour (I LOVE the texture this adds to baked goods) and 1 cup white flour, 1/4 c oil and 1/4 c applesauce- otherwise followed the recipe exactly. WOW! This is what an apple cake SHOULD taste like! Thank you so much for the recipe, I'll never need any other! (FYI- the bundt cake took about 1 1/2 hours to cook)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
It was so hot here today that I wanted a reminder of autumn! I doubled this so I could use my bundt pan and made the following adjustments to the recipe: added 2/3 cup dark brown sugar for a total of 1-2/3 c sugar instead of 2 cups; added 1 T vanilla; I shredded 2 large Braeburn apples and added 1/4 cup applesauce (for those that are tempted to add moisture to the thick batter, shred the apples and they will impart plenty of moisture--it will be like a normal cake batter once you get the apples mixed in) ; I didn't double the nuts--used 1/2 cup pecans; used 1 cup dates, no raisins; added a dash of nutmeg. Instead of doubling the oil, I was going to add 1/4 cup melted butter, but I forgot to add it--I didn't miss it at all. I would like to try it next time with 1/2 wheat flour. Now for the review: I love apple cake & my husband loves date cake--this is a perfect compromise. The cake is moist and flavorful and we both loved it. I added a glaze but it doesn't need anything to enhance it. It absolutely deserves 5 stars--thanks Steven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was delicious!! The apples made the cake super moist. I love the size. I originally made it to bring to a friends house. Unfortunately, I ended up eating all of it. I left out the raisins. I also had to cook it longer than expected. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Excellent!!! This cake is so very moist and easy to make. Better than a box and just as fast. I omitted the raisins for personal taste. At first, the batter looked really crumbly and I added a little milk (like 1/8 cup) next time, and there will be a next time I will not add the milk, as I think the apples moisten the batter. I also put the thinnest layer of cream cheese frosting on. Though it is great solo. Boyfriend LOVES it. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very moist and tasty. The batter looked weird because it was so chunky with apples, but I just left it like that and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
A moist, tender cake bursting with fresh flavor and complex texture. A snap to make with a few basic ingredients. Presents beautifully out of the oven and on cut surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I added 1/4 cup of apple sauce because the batter seemed dry. My cake turned out very moist and it made me feel healthy to be eating this because of the apples, nuts and raisins. Husband said it tasted more like a bread than a cake but he liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. It was still a great recipe Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Very popular at a cake sale. The dessert apples kept their shape and didn't go slushy whihc gave it an interesting texture. I have also made it with wholemeal flou which was also successful. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Oh yum! I am notorious for not being able to bake a decent cake, so I thought I would try this loaf cake. It turned out perfectly. I didn't have eggs and used egg substitute. The batter is dense, the cake itself is moist. A delicious way to herald in the autumn season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States