Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
It was so hot here today that I wanted a reminder of autumn! I doubled this so I could use my bundt pan and made the following adjustments to the recipe: added 2/3 cup dark brown sugar for a total of 1-2/3 c sugar instead of 2 cups; added 1 T vanilla; I shredded 2 large Braeburn apples and added 1/4 cup applesauce (for those that are tempted to add moisture to the thick batter, shred the apples and they will impart plenty of moisture--it will be like a normal cake batter once you get the apples mixed in) ; I didn't double the nuts--used 1/2 cup pecans; used 1 cup dates, no raisins; added a dash of nutmeg. Instead of doubling the oil, I was going to add 1/4 cup melted butter, but I forgot to add it--I didn't miss it at all. I would like to try it next time with 1/2 wheat flour. Now for the review: I love apple cake & my husband loves date cake--this is a perfect compromise. The cake is moist and flavorful and we both loved it. I added a glaze but it doesn't need anything to enhance it. It absolutely deserves 5 stars--thanks Steven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
WOOOOOO-HOOOOOOOO and YUMMMMMMMO!!! What a delicious cake! I doubled the recipe for a bundt pan- used 1c whole wheat flour (I LOVE the texture this adds to baked goods) and 1 cup white flour, 1/4 c oil and 1/4 c applesauce- otherwise followed the recipe exactly. WOW! This is what an apple cake SHOULD taste like! Thank you so much for the recipe, I'll never need any other! (FYI- the bundt cake took about 1 1/2 hours to cook)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This cake is very moist and over-loaded of apples (that's the way an apple cake should be, according to me). It's very cinnamon-y as well (are you surprised: 1 tsp for an 8x4 loaf!). Will make it all winter long, when I need a quick, healthy and satisfying snack. I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted nuts (I'm not very fond of it), and the cake stores quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I LOVE this bread~! I did follow several hints from other reviewers....I used 1/2 cup sauce and 1 diced apple; I added 1 tsp. apple pie spice; and I only sprinkled some of the second pack of oatmeal on top. But I also used Smart Balance Light spread instead of butter....I used Splenda instead of sugar....I added a tablespoon of ground flax seed, and I used Apple Raisin Supreme packs of oatmeal. I was worried that it would be dry as the batter was very stiff, and also using the Smart Balance spread...but it turned out WONDERFUL...moist and flavorful with chuncks of apple. The only thing I'll do differently next time is to add some raisins and nuts to the mix. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
it was my first time at all to bake a cake from a scrach ,and it was yummmmmmmmmy . I made it all with just apple and I added 1/2 tsb of vanilla, I found the sugar is too much for me so I used just 1/2 cup and may be I`ll reduce it the second time as long as the apple is full of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. It was still a great recipe Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Not the prettiest loaf cake I've ever made but it sure did taste good. It's a rather shallow, flat "loaf." I used dates and fresh apples from our tree (don't have a clue what kind they are but they're good and sweet!). I strayed from the recipe a little - the batter was sooo thick that I added a couple splashes of apple cider to loosen it a bit to make it easier to stir in the add-is. I also added a teaspoon of apple pie spice along with the cinnamon. I did use the nuts as well as dates so this cake was just chock full of chunks of fruit and nuts. I had intended to drizzle it with a glaze of powdered sugar and maple syrup but it wasn't even necessary. This is moist, intensely fragrant, with an unmistakable apple taste and presence in spite of the additional spice I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is an easy, tasty recipe. I replaced white for whole wheat flour and used the new Splenda/sugar baking combo. It was a pretty darn good loaf cake for a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was really good and easy. I was looking for a quick and easy recipe to make at my boyfriend's bachelor pad... with few ingredients and using no fancy equipment. This was perfect. He does not even own any baking pans, so I actually baked this in a coffee can - and it was great - like a giant muffin. I added an extra egg, and a little milk to get the batter to the consistancy I wanted, perhaps b/c I used 3 apples, which was prob a little more than 2 cups, and baked it longer b/c of the coffee can (about 1 hr and 10-15 mins). This dissappeared in less than 24 hours, and I will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Great basic recipe. I did find it to be more bread-like than cake-like but I was expecting that and was very pleased with the texture. I added a couple splashes of vanilla and a few dashes of nutmeg to the mixture. I didn't have raisins so I omitted them (but will definitely include them next time), and used pecans in place of the walnuts, which were great. I baked this in a 9x5 loaf pan and it was done at about 38-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States