Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. It was still a great recipe Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Very popular at a cake sale. The dessert apples kept their shape and didn't go slushy whihc gave it an interesting texture. I have also made it with wholemeal flou which was also successful. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Oh yum! I am notorious for not being able to bake a decent cake, so I thought I would try this loaf cake. It turned out perfectly. I didn't have eggs and used egg substitute. The batter is dense, the cake itself is moist. A delicious way to herald in the autumn season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This cake is very moist and over-loaded of apples (that's the way an apple cake should be, according to me). It's very cinnamon-y as well (are you surprised: 1 tsp for an 8x4 loaf!). Will make it all winter long, when I need a quick, healthy and satisfying snack. I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted nuts (I'm not very fond of it), and the cake stores quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This cake had great flavor and was so moist. It was really easy to make. I am planning on making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Very easy and very yummy!! I did not change anything, except I didn't add any dates or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is an easy, tasty recipe. I replaced white for whole wheat flour and used the new Splenda/sugar baking combo. It was a pretty darn good loaf cake for a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
First off, I have to say... I suck at cooking, especially baking! Several years ago a friend of mine made an apple cake and I absolutely loved it. Since then, I have been looking for a recipe that compares and I must say... my search is over! Grandmas Fresh Apple Cake is now gonna be Pearl's apple cake also! As for something helpful to add... I must say that the batter seemed very thick right before I added the chopped apples.. but I just put some elbow grease into it and I ended up with a really moist and chewy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was really good and easy. I was looking for a quick and easy recipe to make at my boyfriend's bachelor pad... with few ingredients and using no fancy equipment. This was perfect. He does not even own any baking pans, so I actually baked this in a coffee can - and it was great - like a giant muffin. I added an extra egg, and a little milk to get the batter to the consistancy I wanted, perhaps b/c I used 3 apples, which was prob a little more than 2 cups, and baked it longer b/c of the coffee can (about 1 hr and 10-15 mins). This dissappeared in less than 24 hours, and I will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I LOVE this bread~! I did follow several hints from other reviewers....I used 1/2 cup sauce and 1 diced apple; I added 1 tsp. apple pie spice; and I only sprinkled some of the second pack of oatmeal on top. But I also used Smart Balance Light spread instead of butter....I used Splenda instead of sugar....I added a tablespoon of ground flax seed, and I used Apple Raisin Supreme packs of oatmeal. I was worried that it would be dry as the batter was very stiff, and also using the Smart Balance spread...but it turned out WONDERFUL...moist and flavorful with chuncks of apple. The only thing I'll do differently next time is to add some raisins and nuts to the mix. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States