Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
it was my first time at all to bake a cake from a scrach ,and it was yummmmmmmmmy . I made it all with just apple and I added 1/2 tsb of vanilla, I found the sugar is too much for me so I used just 1/2 cup and may be I`ll reduce it the second time as long as the apple is full of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
In an effort to make a snack as low calorie as possible I eliminated the nuts and raisins and substituted all natural applesauce for the oil. I doubled it, put it in a 9x13 pan for about 40 min on 350. I cut it into 24 pieces and each is only 122 calories! It smelled wonderful cooking and came out very moist, sweet enough to my palate and my kids asked for seconds - thanks. I look forward to making it with the nuts and raisins as well - I'm sure it tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is a beautiful recipe - really full of apples. Best to use Bramley or a sharp, firm cooking apple. I would reduce the sugar just a little as it's extremely sweet! The recipe is NOT the one in the pic though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is delicious. I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour and added a little more apples. I shredded the apples, which I think made it more moist. My toddler gobbles this up. I have made this twice, once with regular raisins and once with golden raisins without the nuts. I prefer the regular raisins, and the nuts add another great dimension to the cake/bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eptrox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saluda, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Incredible!! Moist and just the right spice. We loved it. Have made two and one is gone already. No nut eaters here, so I doubled the raisins. Next loaf I threw in 3/4 cup raisins, both are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
To much cinnamon in the recipe and very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nammoora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Great basic recipe. I did find it to be more bread-like than cake-like but I was expecting that and was very pleased with the texture. I added a couple splashes of vanilla and a few dashes of nutmeg to the mixture. I didn't have raisins so I omitted them (but will definitely include them next time), and used pecans in place of the walnuts, which were great. I baked this in a 9x5 loaf pan and it was done at about 38-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
A moist, tender cake bursting with fresh flavor and complex texture. A snap to make with a few basic ingredients. Presents beautifully out of the oven and on cut surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
WOOOOOO-HOOOOOOOO and YUMMMMMMMO!!! What a delicious cake! I doubled the recipe for a bundt pan- used 1c whole wheat flour (I LOVE the texture this adds to baked goods) and 1 cup white flour, 1/4 c oil and 1/4 c applesauce- otherwise followed the recipe exactly. WOW! This is what an apple cake SHOULD taste like! Thank you so much for the recipe, I'll never need any other! (FYI- the bundt cake took about 1 1/2 hours to cook)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I added 1/4 cup of apple sauce because the batter seemed dry. My cake turned out very moist and it made me feel healthy to be eating this because of the apples, nuts and raisins. Husband said it tasted more like a bread than a cake but he liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States