Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is a keeper! The only changes I made was using 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown plus adding a splash of vanilla along with shredding 1/2 the apples and chopped the other 1/2. I went with the dates instead of the raisins. The cake was so moist and flavorful. I took it to work and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I don't know what's wrong with mine but my cake looked ugly. It looked like apple crisp rather than a cake. Far away from the photo. The top was dry out, crispy. I checked the recipe twice and found nothing wrong. I use recipe from this site so many times but never happened like this. Taste good, no doubt. And freeze well. Maybe bcos my apples not chopped enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
great tasting recipe!i omitted the raisins and nuts as i didn't have any at hand. and i used melted butter instead of margarine which gave the cake a pudding like texture and served it with creme anglaise - it was a hit with the kids! one just needs to remember that there is moisture in apples too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe very closely. The only changes were adding about 1/8 a cup brown sugar in place of that amount of white sugar. Also I refrigerated it overnight before baking it so added a couple minutes to the cooking since it was going in cold. The texture was good so I don't think the sugar or coolness of the batter effected anything. I felt it was a little bland and not quite sweet enough. Maybe a drizzling of a cinnamon glaze would kick up the flavor and add sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Thank you for posting an apple cake recipe that does not list cake mix as one of the ingredients. I was really worried when I mixed in the flour with the egg/sugar/oil as it started to resemble cookie dough, not cake batter. The apples however solved that problem once I added them. Overall this was easy to make and came out beautifully. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orihime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very easy to make but great result.Very moist and light. Dusted it with icing sugar when cold and it made a great birthday cake. Thanks a lot, will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Excellent, moist cake. My apples were ones I had frozen from last fall. I just coarsely chopped them, and used half the sugar (brown) that was called for as the apples were very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This cake was delicious. I got nervous because before I folded in the apples (I didn't dice the apples, I grated them) the batter was so thick like a stiff cookie dough, so I thought I messed up, but once I added the apples it was perfect. I made a few slight changes. Like another poster, I added 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. I also subsituted 2 egg whites for the one egg. Lastly, I made a crumb topping and added a glaze over top of that. It was SO good! This is a keeper. The cake was dense, yet nice and moist. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneShirley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHERRIEN
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
It is moist and really good. I've shredded 3/4 of the apples and cut the remaining into cube. I also added some nutmeg to it. I love the fracgant of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRIEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This cake was a GREAT low-fat recipe that satisfies the sweet-tooth (especially for my Mother who has been trying to watch her weight lately). The cake came out more the consistency and texture of a heavy loaf bread rather than a light & fluffy cake, but it was still very moist and very tasty (I doubled the recipe & used a bundt pan). My Mother raved about it and asked for the recipe to hand out at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberSiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States