Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Not the prettiest loaf cake I've ever made but it sure did taste good. It's a rather shallow, flat "loaf." I used dates and fresh apples from our tree (don't have a clue what kind they are but they're good and sweet!). I strayed from the recipe a little - the batter was sooo thick that I added a couple splashes of apple cider to loosen it a bit to make it easier to stir in the add-is. I also added a teaspoon of apple pie spice along with the cinnamon. I did use the nuts as well as dates so this cake was just chock full of chunks of fruit and nuts. I had intended to drizzle it with a glaze of powdered sugar and maple syrup but it wasn't even necessary. This is moist, intensely fragrant, with an unmistakable apple taste and presence in spite of the additional spice I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
There would be nothing I would change about this recipe. It is moist and very tasty and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Excellent!! very moist and delicious. The reason I didn't give it five stars is that it's too sweet, next time I'll reduce the sugar to 3/4c. With the apples and raisins in it it doesn't need a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Five stars! I've made this recipe twice now & both times I have been soo pleased. I tried making these healthier by using a blend of 1/3 whole wheat flour & 2/3 white flour & I used 1/4 cup of applesauce & only 2 tbsp of oil. The result was a very rich very moist cake! I will definitely make this recipe again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this today and I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love anything baked with apples. This cake was very moist and nicely sweet. I liked the ease of it, I didn't have to use my mixer. A wooden spoon was enough. I'll make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
WOW!!! I did not think I could find a cake I liked better than the applesauce cake I got from this site and have been making for years but this is amazing. I have made it as is, I've doubled it for a 9X13 pan and I've made it with all whole wheat flour. My sister says this is her new favorite apple dessert, pushing apple crisp to the side after 40+ years. That is saying something. I made it three times in one week. The raisins on top burn a little so I tried soaking them but found it made the cake too moist so I will stick with not soaking the raisins and dealing with the burned. It made a nice crunchy top when I didn't soak. Also, the "batter" is more like fruitcake or a pressed cookie dough. It is very thick but it bakes up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
First bread I've made and it was delicious! Grated about 4 locally grown apples, used a dash of nutmeg, a bit of brown sugar and a bit of vanilla. We didn't have walnuts so I used pecans instead-- delicious. And had no raisins so I used some dates which was amazing though I'm sure it'd be fantaaastic with raisins. Boyfriend loved it and so did everyone else. Moist and apple-y.. perfect! Lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Added nutmeg and unsweetened cocoa, omitted raisins(eww) already have requests to make for events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I followed recipe exactly, I measured my pan to make sure it was the correct size. Baked according to a tooth pick coming out clean....after it cooled I was shocked to see it had collapsed and was a gooey mess. Not happy, waste of ingrediants and my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States