Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I used 3 large apples with chopped dates and walnuts, and used 'pretend' brown sugar. I also took note of another reviewer's hints and added an extra egg and a dribble of milk for consistency. An absolute dream!!! What a gorgeous recipe. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
A nice and simple apple cake (we like the addition of dates). Almost failproof if recipe followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made it exactly as printed - may have added a few extra apple pieces but everything else was the same. We loved it. A very moist loaf cake. I wish I had some whipped cream to put on it or vanilla ice cream as it lends itself to that. I gave it 4 stars as I thought it was a little sweet but my huband gave it 5 stars and said he had no trouble with the sweetness. I may cut out 1/4 cup of sugar next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made it earlier today and I was very disappointed. The toothpick came out clean and when it was cool and I cut it, it wasn't completely cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
One of my most favorite recipes for a quick and delicious dessert. I chop my apples in a food processor and add lots of spices! This cake/bread is moist, flavorful and laden with apples. Delicious! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Strange looking little cake, but the taste more than makes up for it! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I absolutely love this cake. I have made it several times,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is a very easy recipe that turns out very moist and flavorful. I used whole wheat pastry flour and 3/4 cup of brown sugar and it turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
The batter was so tight I thought I must have done something wrong. I reread the ingredients about 10 times after mixing the batter trying to find my mistake. I am not an experienced baker. Luckily some reviews mentioned the same thing and I followed Naples' lead and added a splash of apple cider. That fixed it. Not usually a fan of dried fruit, so I omitted it and used more walnuts. Make sure you do a good job of greasing/flouring the pan, I had some sticking in spots I missed even though I used a nonstick pan. Smelled wonderful while baking. But man! This is so sweet I can barely eat it, even though I reduced the sugar to 3/4. I did love the moist, dense texture and how it is so chock full of apples and nuts. I want to salvage the recipe and try again using half the sugar. Used Baldwin apples from a local orchard. Baked in a pan for 8 mini loaves and baked for 30 min which worked well. Too bad about the exorbitant sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Not the prettiest loaf cake I've ever made but it sure did taste good. It's a rather shallow, flat "loaf." I used dates and fresh apples from our tree (don't have a clue what kind they are but they're good and sweet!). I strayed from the recipe a little - the batter was sooo thick that I added a couple splashes of apple cider to loosen it a bit to make it easier to stir in the add-is. I also added a teaspoon of apple pie spice along with the cinnamon. I did use the nuts as well as dates so this cake was just chock full of chunks of fruit and nuts. I had intended to drizzle it with a glaze of powdered sugar and maple syrup but it wasn't even necessary. This is moist, intensely fragrant, with an unmistakable apple taste and presence in spite of the additional spice I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States