Grandma's Focaccia: Baraise Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
The amount of flour in this recipe was way off for me. I don't know if it would be possible to use 2 POUNDS (approx. 8 cups) of flour + 4 riced potatoes + only 1 cup of water and get this to work? I used considerably less flour (about 4 3/4 cups or 21.4 ounces). I drained off 2/3 cup tomato juice before putting the crushed tomatoes on the focaccia. I would recommend slightly less salt. The recipe says to let this cool to room temperature before cutting and serving, but it is much better warm. There could be an improvement upon using plain, cold crushed canned tomatoes as the topping...maybe simmer the crushed tomatoes with garlic and/or onion before adding the oregano. The crust turned out crisp on the outside and chewy inside, but there are simpler & tastier recipes that get the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent. I did not use any of the topping except I drizzled some olive oil with some rosemarry then baked it. I just wanted a plain focaccia to make sandwiches out of it. The bread is wonderful tasting. Because of the potatoes, it gives it a chewy and moist texture. The crust is chewy but crispy at the same time. I was able to half the recipe. I love this bread. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
very good with soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Abbott

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jerseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Great recipe DJK1125. The only thing I did was made a starter or "bambino" set that aside, made the dough, let it develop a bit then added the starter. I also placed it in a retarder overnight and baked it the next day with amazing results. Great crumb, perfect crust. Your Grandma knew what she was doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Al

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I halfed this recipe and made a pizza out of it. Our family loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portola Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was soooooooo good! It looked, smelled and tasted like something from a top notch Mediterranean restaurant. I made it two days in a row; the second time, I added some chopped garlic along with the tomatoes, onion and anchovies. Absolutely amazing! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Everyone loved this recipe. My husband was not sure about focaccia but when he tasted it he was hooked. Dough was light and delicious. Not a fan of anchovies so just left them off. Ate one immediately and froze one for later. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I made this recipe for my family and they love it. Even my father loves it, and it's hard to please my father when it comes to food. I wouldn't change a thing the recipe works well...Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States