Grandma's Five Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Last year I made this recipe exactly as written, times 6, as one of 5 different dishes for my daughter's family/friends baby shower. This year, one year later, my grandson requested this same recipe for his 16th birthday celebration. For a teenager to remember and request a specific dish he enjoyed...well, it just makes my heart sing. Best to refrigerate the salad overnight so the flavors can blend. Stir before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTCOOKIN4TWO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
In a word... "WONDERFUL".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Amazing! I used lite sour cream to cut back on the fat and calories a little bit. Per another reviewer's comment, I added some food coloring. This dish looks great in pink! It was so easy, I'll be making it all the time and I won't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I grew up on 5 cup, but the way we made it was, literally, 5 ingredients and 5 cups. One cup pineapple chunks, one cup mandarin oranges, one cup shredded coconut, one cup mini marshmallows and one cup sour cream. Fold all ingredients together and refrigerate until cold. Every Thanksgiving and Easter we serve this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
My grandma has been making this for our family for 40 years or more. I've never added the coconut before though. We do add diced canned pears, drained, and use fat free sour cream. ALL the children love it and even my husband, who doesn't like marshmellows, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofnine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is so good, I take this to family get togethers a lot. Everyone loves it, I add marachino cherries to mine. Always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Cut back on the coconut. Can use whip cream, yougurt, or low fat sour cream. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Wow. I had never heard of this before, but I made it with fresh diced pineapple, an orange (peeled, cut into rings and then into section bits), Greek yogurt and unsweetened coconut. It is awesome! I skipped the marshmallows, but I'm sure they'd be great if you liked them. It made a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Next time, I will use little or no coconut as my family had issues with texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Aren't grandma's great! Favorite that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States