Grandma's Favorite Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I discovered something about this recipe. While making it for guests who were late I left this in the oven covered with the oven turned off. It probably sat for about 1/2 hour to an hour and when we ate it was falling off the bone. My guests raved about it the entire meal. This is not necessary of course but will make the dish even better. I also noticed that one important part of the recipe was left out....you need to leave the skin on the chicken. I just realized it's not specified in the recipe. That may be while some reviews say it is lacking flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
My sister submitted this recipe and I just wanted to add some good cooking points since we both have been making this for years. To get a really good flavor my husband and I normally add whole garlic cloves, by the time it has cooked an 1 1/2 hrs. the cloves are soft and so sweet they don't even taste like garlic anymore. I alway add a lot of onions and season the chicken with garlic salt and pepper. Parsley is a must. The longer it can cook the better - if you are going to cook over the 1 1/2 hrs. you may want to add a little more water. Take the cover off the last 15 min. to brown the legs and crisp the onion slices a little. Enjoy we alway do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
My family really enjoyed this recipe. It takes a little time to cook but was very easy to prepare. I changed it just a little. We used leg quarters instead of just the legs and used red potatoes instead of white. Leaving the skin on the chicken and potatoes saves a lot of time. I didn't use baby carrots since we didn't have them and just used regular carrots, cutting them lengthwise and in about 1 inch pieces. We just used the potatoes, carrots and onions. Everything came out very good and the broth from the chicken was delish...it is perfect to dip bread into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I love to make this. I do a couple of things differently. First, I use quarters and I do leave the skin on. I also do not put very much water in the pan. It makes its own juice. I put a small pat of margarine on each piece of chicken. I also sprinkle creole seasoning or some sort of rub on the entire dish. This gives it a TON of flavor. I put the broth from this dish into freezer bags and use it when a recipe calls for broth. One last thing, use any and all veggies on hand. Some great additions to this are celery, tomatoes, and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Vey delicious chicken roast. We used chicken legs, sweet potatoes, red peppers, crookneck squash, carrots, lots of onion, and whole cloves of garlic. Used less water and more seasonings including thyme and oregano (omitted parsley), Cooked for hour and a half and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This dish is wonderful! I took the advice of the others and used TONS of veggies, broccoli, baby carrots, red onions, red, yellow & green peppers. The next time I think I will not use broccoli. I also think I will try sweet onions instead of the red and maybe even apples. You do have to use a TON of seasonings and maybe even marinade the chicken before. BUT oher then that this dish is great. Play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I thought this was very good. I did change some things based on the reviews. I left the skin on the chicken, used red potatoes and omitted the squash. I cooked mine for about 1 hr and 30 minutes to make sure all the veggies were cooked. This came out very well. I served it with sour cream and ketchup. The broth was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Just ok. Not much flavor. I added chicken broth instead of water. Chicken tasted like it was just boiled in the broth. Needed more spices or something. Probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Delicious!!! We used beer instead of water. The chicken was falling of the bone. :-p Will definitely be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myfairytalescomingtrue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Purvis, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was okay. Nothing really special...it needed more flavor. I loved how easy it was to prepare though. I'll try it again, but this time I think I'll use chicken broth and not as much of it, and use more spices...maybe marinate the chicken legs...it's a good start and it didn't taste bad, it just wasn't as good as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States