Grandma's Favorite Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I discovered something about this recipe. While making it for guests who were late I left this in the oven covered with the oven turned off. It probably sat for about 1/2 hour to an hour and when we ate it was falling off the bone. My guests raved about it the entire meal. This is not necessary of course but will make the dish even better. I also noticed that one important part of the recipe was left out....you need to leave the skin on the chicken. I just realized it's not specified in the recipe. That may be while some reviews say it is lacking flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Just ok. Not much flavor. I added chicken broth instead of water. Chicken tasted like it was just boiled in the broth. Needed more spices or something. Probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
My family really enjoyed this recipe. It takes a little time to cook but was very easy to prepare. I changed it just a little. We used leg quarters instead of just the legs and used red potatoes instead of white. Leaving the skin on the chicken and potatoes saves a lot of time. I didn't use baby carrots since we didn't have them and just used regular carrots, cutting them lengthwise and in about 1 inch pieces. We just used the potatoes, carrots and onions. Everything came out very good and the broth from the chicken was delish...it is perfect to dip bread into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was okay. Nothing really special...it needed more flavor. I loved how easy it was to prepare though. I'll try it again, but this time I think I'll use chicken broth and not as much of it, and use more spices...maybe marinate the chicken legs...it's a good start and it didn't taste bad, it just wasn't as good as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I thought this was very good. I did change some things based on the reviews. I left the skin on the chicken, used red potatoes and omitted the squash. I cooked mine for about 1 hr and 30 minutes to make sure all the veggies were cooked. This came out very well. I served it with sour cream and ketchup. The broth was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
O.K. I was hesitant that my kids would not like this BUT THEY DID! They even wanted seconds. Great recipe and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
a little bland needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
My sister submitted this recipe and I just wanted to add some good cooking points since we both have been making this for years. To get a really good flavor my husband and I normally add whole garlic cloves, by the time it has cooked an 1 1/2 hrs. the cloves are soft and so sweet they don't even taste like garlic anymore. I alway add a lot of onions and season the chicken with garlic salt and pepper. Parsley is a must. The longer it can cook the better - if you are going to cook over the 1 1/2 hrs. you may want to add a little more water. Take the cover off the last 15 min. to brown the legs and crisp the onion slices a little. Enjoy we alway do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I love to make this. I do a couple of things differently. First, I use quarters and I do leave the skin on. I also do not put very much water in the pan. It makes its own juice. I put a small pat of margarine on each piece of chicken. I also sprinkle creole seasoning or some sort of rub on the entire dish. This gives it a TON of flavor. I put the broth from this dish into freezer bags and use it when a recipe calls for broth. One last thing, use any and all veggies on hand. Some great additions to this are celery, tomatoes, and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This dish is wonderful! I took the advice of the others and used TONS of veggies, broccoli, baby carrots, red onions, red, yellow & green peppers. The next time I think I will not use broccoli. I also think I will try sweet onions instead of the red and maybe even apples. You do have to use a TON of seasonings and maybe even marinade the chicken before. BUT oher then that this dish is great. Play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States