Grandma's Favorite Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
what an amazing recipe! I kept hte garlic gloves whole and hey were delicious. I used yellow flesh potatos and did not add squash. I served this with tazyki sauce on the side and it was a HUGE hit! So easy to make and clean up. Love this!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allybaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This recipe is very practical all you need are the chicken legs and what ever vegetables you want. I used carrots, green bell pepper, green onions, onions, and potatoes. I served it with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Delicious!!! We used beer instead of water. The chicken was falling of the bone. :-p Will definitely be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myfairytalescomingtrue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Purvis, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Vey delicious chicken roast. We used chicken legs, sweet potatoes, red peppers, crookneck squash, carrots, lots of onion, and whole cloves of garlic. Used less water and more seasonings including thyme and oregano (omitted parsley), Cooked for hour and a half and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I used leg and thigh quarters, divided. I pulled the skin off and trimmed off as much fat as I could. I know the skin and fat gives great flavor, but I'm trying to reduce my fat intake. Besides, the cooked skin is not attractive, as well as awkward to remove from hot chicken. I quickly browned the chicken in butter in my stovetop and oven safe casserole pot, instead of putting it on top of the salted and peppered chicken. I added whole garlic cloves after the chicken was a nice golden brown and sauted for only a few minutes, ensuring the garlic didn't burn. I added the layers of vegetables as listed, parsley flakes, garlic powder, and black pepper. Instead of adding salt and water I used homemade chicken broth. I covered the casserole pot with it's tight sealing lid to bake in the oven. This recipe reminds me of a rustic French dish I've had in the past. One could add wine as part of the liquid if desired. It is a simple recipe that can be taylored to what one has on hand. The smell is wonderful and tantalizing. My family's mouths watered in anticipation of the meal. I served with crusty french rolls and a salad. The broth was amazing. Thanks, Melissa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong. After 80 minutes, my veggies were still raw and the chicken had blood running out of it. We ordered out for pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Very easy and tastes great. I'm pretty sure I used more seasoning than it calls for and I put whole cloves of garlic in with the veggies. I used thighs and legs. For the veggies, I added zucchini and sweet potatoes in addition to what's listed here. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I thought it was bland. Maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
We really enjoyed this. I added some extra veggies, cauliflower and mushrooms. I loved the vidalia onions that I used with the potatoes. Delicious!! I omitted the butter on top of the drumsticks. Probably why the skin didn't crisp up very well, but we take the skin off before eating anyway, so not a big deal to us. The kids ate the parts of the skin that were crispy and there weren't any complaints from them. I'll definitely make this again. A great meal to pop in the oven before running the kids to wherever they have to go! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This dish is wonderful! I took the advice of the others and used TONS of veggies, broccoli, baby carrots, red onions, red, yellow & green peppers. The next time I think I will not use broccoli. I also think I will try sweet onions instead of the red and maybe even apples. You do have to use a TON of seasonings and maybe even marinade the chicken before. BUT oher then that this dish is great. Play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States