Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Great base recipe. I added 4tbs flour like other users suggested and a pinch of old bay. Next time I will add salt and use less black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
My Mom always added cornmeal but I am on a low carb diet so was excited when I found this recipe. Followed the recipe and chilled the patties for 30 min. They didn't fall apart and cooked-up just as crunchy as my Mom's. They were pretty darn good. Liked the onion. Will spice it up a bit next time. Yep...a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Pell
Home Town: Westfield, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Next time I would use the suggestions about adding a quarter cup of flour to the mixture to help it stick together. But it was fabulous! Here is what I DID do: Added thyme, dill & Worcestershire sauce. I sprayed a baking pan heavily with Pam, placed the patties, which I rolled in a bit of flour, onto the baking pan, then sprayed each patty with Pam. I baked in a 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes, turning once. Even my picky eater ate all of what was on his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Added some bread crumbs, maybe a quarter cup. Tipped w a sriracha mayo: heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Thanks for the delicious recipe, perfect for low carb eating! I used large eggs and minced dried onion. I refrigerated the 6 patties for a short time after forming and fought the urge to add filler. They cooked up beautifully brown and crispy and moist inside. I usually eat these with a dill pickle as I had them growing up and like the different spices I have tried - curry, lemon pepper, dill and garlic. I like a little flavored mayo on them reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen M Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Yummy, I added fresh lemon juice Old Bay , then I dipped the patties in some corn meal to give a crunch and to bind them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My picky five year old said it was good so i definitely like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Gallant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I add fresh garlic, and serve them with ranch with a bit of lemon in it! Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I'm not a really big fan of salmon prepared any way,but these salmon cakes were pretty good and I would consider having them again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I love salmon patties, and you can use 1 sleeve of saltine crackers if you don't want to guess how much corn flakes to measure out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ortasic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States