Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This is an excellent basic recipe and I have made it several times, but may I suggest a couple of things: First, instead of using flour, try crushed corn flake cereal - use your own judgement as to the correct amount, but enough to thicken the mixture. You will have a crisp patty. Second, my grandmother advised me a long time ago that when using canned fish, to always add a pinch or two of white sugar - some how does away with the tin can taste. It works too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
657 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
I'm a huge salmon fan and I thought this recipe was so easy and very tasty. I made one change...instead of frying in oil, I sprayed a baking pan heavily with Pam, placed the patties, which I rolled in a bit of bread crumbs, onto the baking pan, then sprayed each patty with Pam. I baked in a 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes, turning once. they were golden brown, but tender on the inside and not one bit greasy. they were out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
485 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I just wanted to make a quick comment---I'm familiar with this recipe; it's identical in every way to my mother's EXCEPT my mom and I always add about a quarter cup of flour to the mixture to help it stick together. It works much better this way and you don't lose any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This recipe provided an excellent framework. I did tweak the directions though. Instead of using 2 eggs, I just used 1. I then used 2 tablespoons of miracle whip, 1 cup of plain bread crumbs, and 1½ teas of Old Bay, the last two being what many others suggested. My husband tasted it and was immediately impressed. Since I've tried to make other recipes or bought store kits before, he said this is the recipe I should use from now on. But, since I like my cakes a little spicy, I think I'll use more Old Bay, or try a little dill the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I'm on the Atkins Diet and this is a perfect meal for anyone who is doing the low-carb, high-protein thing. Therefore, adding flour is not an option, and in my opinion totally unnecessary. The mixture may seem a little loose at first but if the salmon is drained well and the mixture well-blended, they should come out perfectly (as mine did on the first try). The only additions I made were garlic powder and chopped green onion. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
When using canned salmon there is no need to remove the bones. They have a high nutritional value. Just crush them up with you fingers and they are undetectable in the finished product. Also, I shape them like fish sticks and bake them. The kids love them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I like this recipe much better than salmon cakes with bread crumbs. Tastes better and is low carb!! I minced the onion and used a medium sized onion. The patties held together very well. It may have helped that I put the mixture in the frig for about 30 minutes before I formed the patties. I also added a little seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
These are really good...especially if you like canned fish. I like to mince my onions rather than chop because I don't like "chunks" of onions in anything. The amount of ingredients are right on...they mold the salmon mixture together perfectly. I like to sprinkle garlic powder on mine...I do that with almost everything I prepare. These are great pan fried...wonder how they would taste baked?? Thanks Jessica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love most fish or seafood cakes and the simplicity of this recipe has made this one of my quick backup meals. I have not found that one needs to modify the recipe except for one step: refrigerate the cakes once shaped for 20-30 minutes. It will prevent the cakes from breaking up during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
After adding green pepper and a tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce.I then rolled in flour as suggested by another reviewer, they came out great. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States