Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I just wanted to make a quick comment---I'm familiar with this recipe; it's identical in every way to my mother's EXCEPT my mom and I always add about a quarter cup of flour to the mixture to help it stick together. It works much better this way and you don't lose any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Good recipe, I added a 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, and next time will add a little green pepper for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
My husband loved your reciepe. Thanks for sharing it and making it easy to cook something HE likes! I am not a fish person myself to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Perfect! Just like the ones my Grandmother used to make in the summer. Thanks Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
I used fresh salmon, one egg and added the 1/4 cup of flour as suggested by another user. I also added some chopped garlic and dried parsley. I mixed in my food processor. I was not able to shape individual patties and ended up cooking one big one. I don't think I'll use the food processor next time. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMS121

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
After adding green pepper and a tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce.I then rolled in flour as suggested by another reviewer, they came out great. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
These are really good...especially if you like canned fish. I like to mince my onions rather than chop because I don't like "chunks" of onions in anything. The amount of ingredients are right on...they mold the salmon mixture together perfectly. I like to sprinkle garlic powder on mine...I do that with almost everything I prepare. These are great pan fried...wonder how they would taste baked?? Thanks Jessica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Delicious! I used fresh salmon rather than canned (I just baked it at 350 for 25 minutes before hand) and I think it made all the difference. I also added a bit of flour like one of the reviewers suggested. These are really great! 3/22 I made these with canned salmon tonight. I added some Old Bay and garlic, then rolled the patties (more like balls) in seasoned bread crumbs. My boyfriend gave these 6 stars out of 5. He LOVED them this way! Served with steamed soy beans, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
We really liked these, and considering how EASY it was to throw together... it's definitely a keeper!! Sometimes the simpler recipes really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States