Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter today. These were delicious. I'm following a high protein/ low carb diet and these fit the rules exactly. If the salmon is well drained there's no need for adding flour which is not on my diet. The cakes were easy to form... much like hamburger or ground turkey. Ok, there 's one thing, I didn't remove the bones. They are soft and a great source of calcium. You cannot even taste them or feel a different texture. I made a sauce to go with them out of mayo, Louisianna hot sauce, Bragg vinegar, black pepper and garlic powder. No measuring, whipped it together to taste. Just stirred sauce ingredients....no cooking. Yummo! Had a green salad on the side. Your grandma's recipe should be famous....it was so good. I'm thinking of trying it with crab instead of salmon sometimes. Thanks for sharing!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is an absolutely perfect recipe. I used sockeye salmon simply because although I'm in no way a fish lover, I do love sockeye salmon. I drained the salmon for quite some time to make sure it was dry, left the bones and skin on, then followed the recipe, adding a very small amount of minced red pepper. I love red peppers and I thought a touch of colour was a good thing. I may as well not have added it. Not much flavour came though. I fried the patties (8 of them, four at a time) in the oil on medium for close to 5 minutes on the first side, then a little less on the other. I love that this recipe doesn't have any starch of any kind. Who needs starch? It kept it's shape beautifully when cooking and browned up nice and crunchy on the outside. One tip: allow it to get nice and brown, not just golden, before you attempt to turn it. Also, don't let the soft texture fool you before you fry. Just place it gently in the pan and you'll be fine. If it kind of threatens to fall apart... no worries, just pat it back into shape with the spatula. I'm going to make this at least once a week. Finally I can have fish in my diet and actually enjoy it. Thank you Jess for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHSUZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very tasty and extremely easy. Followed recipe exactly. Used green onions because that's what I had. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I am sorry but I really felt this lacked flavor. I did add dill but that didn't seem to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
These turned out really well. The only change I made was to coat them in plain bread crumbs with a bit of old bay mixed in, and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very good recipe. Will definitely make this again. Evenr my picky eaters liked it. Only change that I made was to use 1/4 cup flour and canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was awesome. After reading the reviews I tweaked it as well. I added green peppers and bread crubs and actually baked it instead of frying. 375 degrees for 20 mintues, flipping one time. I also add some mrs. dash for extra flavor and lemon dill sauce for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
With some modifications, it turned out GREAT! I followed some tips on the salmon can and added a small amount of crushed croutons, fresh garlic, about 2 tbsp lemon juice, and a heaping tbsp of fat-free mayo... Rolled in crush croutons and fried in EVOO made these the BEST salmon cakes Ive ever tasted!! Even my bf who never had these b4 and hates fish (he only likes basic foods--weirdo lol) LOVED these! I tried this recipe as is, and it was ok, but with my modifications... OMG!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I did add a little flour for substance, cornmeal for crunch and a dash of ground cayenne red pepper for little kick. My children (ages 2 & 8) loved it! Served as a breakfast dish (for dinner) with ground cheese grits and scrambled eggs and cheese for some southern charm. Will definitely add this receipe to my receipe box! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was very good. The patties stuck together pretty well and they were golden and appetizing. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States