Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Quite disappointed. Hardly any flavor, despite adding some cayenne. Ending up using the patties as fishburgers, but they really needed to be accompanied by tartar sauce. Might taste a lot better if using fresh salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were awesome! Finally, something to make with canned salmon that I actually like! I made these exactly as the recipe is written. It's true that the mixture is very soft but all you have to do is get the little patties from the bowl to the frying pan in once piece and then they fry up nice and crisp. These will be a regular high protein lunch for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is the recipe I've been using for years. It's quick, easy, and something my family looks forward to eating for dinner. I've also used the new boneless salmon in the foil packets and it works very well. I usually use 2 packets and I like not picking out the bones and skin. While the bones may be undetectable if you crush them up I cannot eat them and would be afraid someone would choke if it wasn't crushed up enough. A sweet onion really makes this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I need to add some salt next time-i added flour to some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I adjusted to the recipe to make six servings instead of four, and everything turned out just fine. As per another reviewers suggestion, I also baked these on 375 for about 20-25 minutes...flipping once halfway through. Much healthier than frying, and my mom actually commented about how she liked them better this way. I spruced these up a bit adding garlic powder, onion powder, salt, bread crumbs, and parsley. I also chilled the salmon mixture in the fridge for about 20 minutes before molding them into patties. This is a good base recipe, but use your imagination and your own taste preferences in order to adjust them to how you want them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Great! My mom used to make these all the time. All I add is garlic salt (no oil) and when we want to spice them up, I add a can of drained hot green chilies. Perfection! 3 things: You do not need to remove the bones, just crumple with your fingers; they are tasteless and a high source of nutrition. If your mixture falls apart or you feel you need to firm it up with flour...then you did not drain the salmon totally. There is a lot of juice in a can of salmon! And only 1 egg per can of salmon or you will create the "runny" issue again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Very good, My 4 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCaliMommy
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Loved this recipe exactly as is... I am not allowed any starches or sugars, and it's been hard to find a salmon cake recipe that didn't insist on flour, breadcrumbs, corn meal or whatever. And that there was no sugar in there was ideal as well. I've tried this recipe twice, once with canned salmon, once with salmon fillets I'd cooked up. Both were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter today. These were delicious. I'm following a high protein/ low carb diet and these fit the rules exactly. If the salmon is well drained there's no need for adding flour which is not on my diet. The cakes were easy to form... much like hamburger or ground turkey. Ok, there 's one thing, I didn't remove the bones. They are soft and a great source of calcium. You cannot even taste them or feel a different texture. I made a sauce to go with them out of mayo, Louisianna hot sauce, Bragg vinegar, black pepper and garlic powder. No measuring, whipped it together to taste. Just stirred sauce ingredients....no cooking. Yummo! Had a green salad on the side. Your grandma's recipe should be famous....it was so good. I'm thinking of trying it with crab instead of salmon sometimes. Thanks for sharing!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is an absolutely perfect recipe. I used sockeye salmon simply because although I'm in no way a fish lover, I do love sockeye salmon. I drained the salmon for quite some time to make sure it was dry, left the bones and skin on, then followed the recipe, adding a very small amount of minced red pepper. I love red peppers and I thought a touch of colour was a good thing. I may as well not have added it. Not much flavour came though. I fried the patties (8 of them, four at a time) in the oil on medium for close to 5 minutes on the first side, then a little less on the other. I love that this recipe doesn't have any starch of any kind. Who needs starch? It kept it's shape beautifully when cooking and browned up nice and crunchy on the outside. One tip: allow it to get nice and brown, not just golden, before you attempt to turn it. Also, don't let the soft texture fool you before you fry. Just place it gently in the pan and you'll be fine. If it kind of threatens to fall apart... no worries, just pat it back into shape with the spatula. I'm going to make this at least once a week. Finally I can have fish in my diet and actually enjoy it. Thank you Jess for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHSUZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States