Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
These turned out really well. The only change I made was to coat them in plain bread crumbs with a bit of old bay mixed in, and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very good recipe. Will definitely make this again. Evenr my picky eaters liked it. Only change that I made was to use 1/4 cup flour and canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was awesome. After reading the reviews I tweaked it as well. I added green peppers and bread crubs and actually baked it instead of frying. 375 degrees for 20 mintues, flipping one time. I also add some mrs. dash for extra flavor and lemon dill sauce for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
With some modifications, it turned out GREAT! I followed some tips on the salmon can and added a small amount of crushed croutons, fresh garlic, about 2 tbsp lemon juice, and a heaping tbsp of fat-free mayo... Rolled in crush croutons and fried in EVOO made these the BEST salmon cakes Ive ever tasted!! Even my bf who never had these b4 and hates fish (he only likes basic foods--weirdo lol) LOVED these! I tried this recipe as is, and it was ok, but with my modifications... OMG!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I did add a little flour for substance, cornmeal for crunch and a dash of ground cayenne red pepper for little kick. My children (ages 2 & 8) loved it! Served as a breakfast dish (for dinner) with ground cheese grits and scrambled eggs and cheese for some southern charm. Will definitely add this receipe to my receipe box! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was very good. The patties stuck together pretty well and they were golden and appetizing. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was great! I had to add a can of tuna as it was way too wet, maybe only needed one egg. Also big tip...TURN YOUR EXHAUST FAN ON! I forgot & my house smells of fish! YUCK.. Super recipe ~ browned up beautifully. Next time might add green pepper. Served salsa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
These were okay, but not great. I found them too dry and the taste of the salmon didn't come through enough for me. I took another reviewers advise and added 1/4 cup of flour as the recipe looked too wet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe turned out great, It is very tasty. I also added minced garlic to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VikkiMM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
It tastes great! I used raw salmon instead and put those in the food processor. Still it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States