Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
The name rings true! My Dad asked for salmon cakes at Christmas dinner because his Grandma used to make them every Christmas. I used this recipe, only I used about half as much onion and substituted the other half for potato. Sure enough, he said they were just like his Grandma's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very easy and very tasty. I love the simplicity. I halved the recipe and got two larger cakes from a 6 oz can of salmon. I did add cajun seasoning. Served over rice with a runny egg over the top. At the start it looks like it will never hold together. Resist the urge to touch the cake and watch as the eggs firm up to hold it all together. Don't flip until the bottom is browned and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South New Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Perfect! No bread and they came out perfect! i I doubled the recipe, prepared it in the morning and let it rest in the fridge until dinner. Servred with a sauce of mayo and Old Bay seasoning. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this recipe as stated, but used Egg Beaters in place of the egg and added some chopped bell pepper. The salmon cakes were delicious, but I thought used much more oil than was necessary. I think next time I will try baking them like another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I never drain the salmon and I leave in the bones. I add 1 egg, a torn slice of bread (whole wheat, if you have it) and about 15 crushed soda crackers. Mix together, form into patties and fry in oil or a mix of oil and butter. YUMMMM. A great quick dinner and the leftovers are great hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was my 2nd time making salmon cakes. The first time with another recipe. But this time it came out much better. The only thing I did change was adding a little all purpose flour to hold it all together. I did that from reading some of the other reviews. It turned out great. My family loved it with grits. I will be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is almost like my recipe except I use one egg and add cornmeal as a binder. I will try your version and see which one I like better. I'm always open to try different and new recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glendalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
A very simple to follow recipe with good results. A good base to add different kinds of herbs to your liking. The only thing I might suggest is to add a squeeze of lemon/lime to tone down the fishy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made the following additions/changes per my mother's advice: green onion vs. white/yellow onion, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, salt, hot sauce, old bay seasoning, and miracle whip. I also used extra virgin olive oil to fry the patties. These go great with grits. My entire family is from Charleston SC so dishes like these are a household staple. My granny will sometimes fry butts meat, break it into pieces, and then mix in the aforementioned ingredients without making them into patties. EMJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIG203

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love most fish or seafood cakes and the simplicity of this recipe has made this one of my quick backup meals. I have not found that one needs to modify the recipe except for one step: refrigerate the cakes once shaped for 20-30 minutes. It will prevent the cakes from breaking up during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States