Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
A very simple to follow recipe with good results. A good base to add different kinds of herbs to your liking. The only thing I might suggest is to add a squeeze of lemon/lime to tone down the fishy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made the following additions/changes per my mother's advice: green onion vs. white/yellow onion, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, salt, hot sauce, old bay seasoning, and miracle whip. I also used extra virgin olive oil to fry the patties. These go great with grits. My entire family is from Charleston SC so dishes like these are a household staple. My granny will sometimes fry butts meat, break it into pieces, and then mix in the aforementioned ingredients without making them into patties. EMJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIG203

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love most fish or seafood cakes and the simplicity of this recipe has made this one of my quick backup meals. I have not found that one needs to modify the recipe except for one step: refrigerate the cakes once shaped for 20-30 minutes. It will prevent the cakes from breaking up during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Simple but elegant recipe. Very tasty. I was surprised that I did not have to use flour to bind the ingredients; the extra egg holds everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Definitely tasty -- my husband gave it the thumbs up for cooking again. I used a can of red salmon for the extra flavor punch, but otherwise prepared the recipe exactly as is. I also made sure to really press drain the salmon first, to help it hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These were very good, they stayed moist and didn't fall apart when they were done. I don't care that much for salmon, but these will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
i used 1/2 tbps onion powder and lightly coated my cakes in plain breadcrumbs. I also baked mine for 20 min @375. They came out DELISIOUS! But they do need a sauce of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
It was the end of the month and I couldn't afford any new ingredients. I was looking for a simple salmon cake recipe. This recipe really hit the spot. It was outstanding! I did add about 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs which seemed to keep it together better. I used sweet red onions which made it really tasty. You must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
A great, quick meal! I added green pepper & a few white bread crumbs like my Grandmother used to do as well as a pinch of salt. This was a hit with the family for a really quick fix. We ate them as salmon patty sandwiches & they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Straight Suga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Quite disappointed. Hardly any flavor, despite adding some cayenne. Ending up using the patties as fishburgers, but they really needed to be accompanied by tartar sauce. Might taste a lot better if using fresh salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States