Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Definitely tasty -- my husband gave it the thumbs up for cooking again. I used a can of red salmon for the extra flavor punch, but otherwise prepared the recipe exactly as is. I also made sure to really press drain the salmon first, to help it hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These were very good, they stayed moist and didn't fall apart when they were done. I don't care that much for salmon, but these will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
i used 1/2 tbps onion powder and lightly coated my cakes in plain breadcrumbs. I also baked mine for 20 min @375. They came out DELISIOUS! But they do need a sauce of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
It was the end of the month and I couldn't afford any new ingredients. I was looking for a simple salmon cake recipe. This recipe really hit the spot. It was outstanding! I did add about 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs which seemed to keep it together better. I used sweet red onions which made it really tasty. You must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
A great, quick meal! I added green pepper & a few white bread crumbs like my Grandmother used to do as well as a pinch of salt. This was a hit with the family for a really quick fix. We ate them as salmon patty sandwiches & they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Straight Suga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Quite disappointed. Hardly any flavor, despite adding some cayenne. Ending up using the patties as fishburgers, but they really needed to be accompanied by tartar sauce. Might taste a lot better if using fresh salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were awesome! Finally, something to make with canned salmon that I actually like! I made these exactly as the recipe is written. It's true that the mixture is very soft but all you have to do is get the little patties from the bowl to the frying pan in once piece and then they fry up nice and crisp. These will be a regular high protein lunch for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is the recipe I've been using for years. It's quick, easy, and something my family looks forward to eating for dinner. I've also used the new boneless salmon in the foil packets and it works very well. I usually use 2 packets and I like not picking out the bones and skin. While the bones may be undetectable if you crush them up I cannot eat them and would be afraid someone would choke if it wasn't crushed up enough. A sweet onion really makes this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I need to add some salt next time-i added flour to some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I adjusted to the recipe to make six servings instead of four, and everything turned out just fine. As per another reviewers suggestion, I also baked these on 375 for about 20-25 minutes...flipping once halfway through. Much healthier than frying, and my mom actually commented about how she liked them better this way. I spruced these up a bit adding garlic powder, onion powder, salt, bread crumbs, and parsley. I also chilled the salmon mixture in the fridge for about 20 minutes before molding them into patties. This is a good base recipe, but use your imagination and your own taste preferences in order to adjust them to how you want them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States